Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Really important to double the sauce! Otherwise it is too dry and barely coats the puffed wheat, and they don't stick together at all. I've also made some adjustments for my personal taste: 7 cups (not 8) puffed wheat, 6 tbsp cocoa powder, 2/3 cup corn syrup, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/3 (not 2/3) cup butter or margarine. It sticks well together, is moist and very tasty! If the sauce had been doubled in the original recipe, I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
not enough sauce for 8 cups wheat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alia Covaci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a good "base" recipie, but to make these the best(and stickiest/gooeiest) puffed wheat squares you have ever tasted, add about 10 marshmallows, a bit extra butter and a dash of vanilla.Presto amazing dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I found the same issue as many others that it wasn't sticky and added another good amount of corn syrup. Otherwise, great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Would have given a five, but tripled the sauce and it was fantastic. For those of you who have gluten allergies, I've made these with puffed rice and puffed corn...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I followed veganinvancouver's recipe but used honey nut cheerios instead of puffed wheat. I also spoon mine into muffin papers (makes about 24) so that they are already portioned for a bake sale. This recipe is FABULOUS!! Thanks Vegan for your changes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Overall a good recipe but a suggestion for anyone having problems getting the puffs to stick - let it get to the boiling point and add 1/2 bag fresh marshmallows until just before completely melted. Then remove from heat. Depending on how chewy you like it - it's not always necessary to pack it down hard into the pan. I've made this recipe several times now and it seems the marshmallow addition helps the chewiness of the end product whether it's packed tightly or not. Also, it does need more cocoa - I added about 2/3 of a cup to help counteract the natural sweetness of the syrup and brown sugar. Will keep this as a basic go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyCanes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is not how puffed wheat squares are suppose to be. They don't stick together & they ended up really grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Schmidts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Reviewer romyo has it right, this is the stingy version! Altho she states 2 tsp of cocoa..you're kidding me ha! More like 5 tablespoons if you want a seriously choclatey square...and why wouldn't you?? Try this: 2/3 cup corn syrup, 1 cup lightly packed brown sugar, 5 Tablespoons cocoa..bring to a boil, add 1/2 cup butter, and then boil approx 45 seconds. Remove from heat and add 2 tsp vanilla. Add to 8 cups of puffed wheat or puffed kamut. Press into 9x13 pan (another reviewer suggests wetting palms of your hands then pressing, this works great). A great treat on a hot summer day (which it is in Perth Australia right now) when you don't want to turn on the oven. Another great TIP I just discovered. I always save the paper or foil from butter and keep it in the freezer...use it to grease pans. Anyway, after I lightly pressed the puffed wheat into the pan, I laid a butter paper over and pressed with my hands, works like a bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States