Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is what I change to the recipe to make it even better: 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup corn syrup, 1/2 cup butter, and add 1 tsp of vanilla. I let it boil for 3 minutes, and then pour it over the puffed wheat. These additions make it the yummiest p.w. squared you will ever eat. (And they stick together well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The basics are there, but I too, like most, found this to be lacking in stickiness, so I couldn't give it full marks. I also found that 9x9 isn't enough for us. I came up with my own after lots of experimenting that feeds us all *and* sticks together well. I pack it tightly in a 9x 13 greased pan. I use: 2/3 cup butter or margarine, 1 cup corn syrup (I spray the cup with PAM so the syrup comes out easily), 2 cups brown sugar, 2 tsp. vanilla, 5 Tbsp. cocoa powder (add more if you like a more chocolate flavour), and 10 to 10 1/2 cups puffed wheat cereal Then I pretty much follow the directions that the submitter uses, though I don't time the boiling of the mixture. Once it gets fairly bubbly, then I remove it from the heat. I also use a medium pot because I'm too lazy to butter the sides. *** Brenda--It's been a while since I made any, but you could try decreasing some of the brown sugar (I don't pack the brown sugar when I measure it). You could try reducing your boiling time if that doesn't work. That's tricky though, because not enough and they won't stick; too much and they get hard. Time the boil for right about a minute or slightly less and you should be good. Or grab a candy thermometer and go for a soft ball stage. Honestly, I can't remember ever having any leftovers to notice if it goes hard, but I think over boiling is generally what makes the syrup/squares harden quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I have a similar version - 8c. puffed wheat 1/2c. butter 1/2c. corn syrup 2T cocoa 1tsp vanilla 1c. brown sugar I found that for chewy squares add all ingredients but the puffed wheat and butter, bring the mixture to a boil and then add the butter and then boil for about a minute, the longer it boils the crunchier the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a stingy version of the original recipe most people are looking for. After a bit of a search I have found the most used recipe is: 1/2 c butter, 1/2c corn syrup, 1cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cocoa, 2 tsp. vanilla for 8 cups of puffed wheat. As well, by rapid boiling the syrup for one minute I think most people without a candy thermometer run the risk of taking it to a hard candy stage (hence the comments about rock hard squares). Bring the syrup to boil and as soon as it hits rapid boil remove it from heat. Should work out better for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I tried this recipe (twice in fact) and followed the directions exactly. I could not get the squares to stick together. Am I missing something? I seem to have this problem with the corn syrup and sugar mixtures. They do not seem to bind well to the cereal mixture. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This is a yummy recipie, but you have to either triple the amount of sauce, or only use 2 or so cup sof puffed wheat in order for them to even stick together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Reviewer romyo has it right, this is the stingy version! Altho she states 2 tsp of cocoa..you're kidding me ha! More like 5 tablespoons if you want a seriously choclatey square...and why wouldn't you?? Try this: 2/3 cup corn syrup, 1 cup lightly packed brown sugar, 5 Tablespoons cocoa..bring to a boil, add 1/2 cup butter, and then boil approx 45 seconds. Remove from heat and add 2 tsp vanilla. Add to 8 cups of puffed wheat or puffed kamut. Press into 9x13 pan (another reviewer suggests wetting palms of your hands then pressing, this works great). A great treat on a hot summer day (which it is in Perth Australia right now) when you don't want to turn on the oven. Another great TIP I just discovered. I always save the paper or foil from butter and keep it in the freezer...use it to grease pans. Anyway, after I lightly pressed the puffed wheat into the pan, I laid a butter paper over and pressed with my hands, works like a bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Followed the suggestions from Rachelle review from Mar. 25, 2008. Taste great & they stick together - only problem just one day after (even stored in a air tight container) are rock hard. Like it to be sticky gooey. Any suggestions anyone please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
they tasted great, but i could not get them to stick together. I adjusted it to 1/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup corn syrup, 1 cup brown sugar, 1tsp vanilla, 3tbsp cocoa, 8 cups puff wheat. and let it boil for three minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Good but didn't stick together to well. Boil sauce for about 30 sec makes them stay together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States