Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Reviewer romyo has it right, this is the stingy version! Altho she states 2 tsp of cocoa..you're kidding me ha! More like 5 tablespoons if you want a seriously choclatey square...and why wouldn't you?? Try this: 2/3 cup corn syrup, 1 cup lightly packed brown sugar, 5 Tablespoons cocoa..bring to a boil, add 1/2 cup butter, and then boil approx 45 seconds. Remove from heat and add 2 tsp vanilla. Add to 8 cups of puffed wheat or puffed kamut. Press into 9x13 pan (another reviewer suggests wetting palms of your hands then pressing, this works great). A great treat on a hot summer day (which it is in Perth Australia right now) when you don't want to turn on the oven. Another great TIP I just discovered. I always save the paper or foil from butter and keep it in the freezer...use it to grease pans. Anyway, after I lightly pressed the puffed wheat into the pan, I laid a butter paper over and pressed with my hands, works like a bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious squares. I doubled up the cocoa, butter, corn syrup, and brown sugar to make them more gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
TO MAKE IT STICK, i just melted 20 marshmallows with it and it made it even better tasting! and instead of 1/4 cup brown sugar, made it 1/2 cup and i more tablespoon of unsweetened coco. i don't like very sweet but this recipe is really not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
perhaps triple the cornsyrup and double the butter and sugar portions and you will have enough "stuff" to cover the puffed wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love this recipie, if you want it more chocloatly just double or triple the sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenajoh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I read through some comments and took the advice to put margarine in very last and I added a handful of small marshmallows as I finished boiling the corn syrup, cocoa and brwn sugar. Also only boiled for about 30 to 45 seconds... I've had people rave about this - stick perfectly and never hard and crunchie - don't boil the margarine/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
well this recipe didnt stick too well but when i added the modifications it was the yummiest thing i ever tasted. but for an added boost i put pecans and chocolate bits on top while is was still hot then drizzled caramel. yes it was sweet but this will kill any sweet cravings you are having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahrmichel

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I would add another 2 tablespoons to make it more chocolatey, but it was excellent! I took it to a back yard bbq and it was the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHeadNewlyWed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Tasted great, but didn't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krysta Harder
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I took the advice of other readers and doubled the saucy stuff! ;) I also added two tsp vanilla, and replaced the unhealthy corn syrup with honey! The honey does make it a bit sweeter, but it's much healthier than corn syrup, and it has a nice light honey flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Harder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States