Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Dry, tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
wish I would have read the comments first the chocolate didnt even close to coat all the cereal so if I make it again I will at least 1/2 the cereal. for now im left with dry crumbling flavorless puffed squares
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
love puffed wheat squares...i add mini marshmallows to my cocoa mixture, stir til melted then add to the cereal. \not only does it stick together better, it gives it a great chew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great taste to the recipe, however, I only used 5 cups of puffed wheat and then added overflowing 1/2c brown sugar, 3/4c corn syrup,1/2c butter, 1.5 tsp of vanilla, 2tbsp of cocoa. It is much better with excess sauce rather than being too dry. If you still want moist squares using 8cups of puffed wheat, I would at least double or double plus half of the sauce to make them really sticky and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsedlak
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice now. I followed the directions to the letter. I let them cool completely the first time (2 hours) and they crumbled. 2nd time? Cooled 2 hours, cooled another hour in the fridge. Still crumbled. It made a decently tasty crumbly mess, but they were completely unsuccessful as a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Another idea here for the peanut butter lovers; add 1 cup peanut butter-instead of the cocoa , 1/4 cup corn syrup and brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The Recipe is good but not soft enough. I found that there were a few reviews that helped me get the Recipe just right. Over boiling will just harden the cocoa and syrup mixture over the puffed wheat. I would also add a bit more cocoa to have a better chocolate flavor. Don't over do it with the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Really important to double the sauce! Otherwise it is too dry and barely coats the puffed wheat, and they don't stick together at all. I've also made some adjustments for my personal taste: 7 cups (not 8) puffed wheat, 6 tbsp cocoa powder, 2/3 cup corn syrup, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/3 (not 2/3) cup butter or margarine. It sticks well together, is moist and very tasty! If the sauce had been doubled in the original recipe, I would have given it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
not enough sauce for 8 cups wheat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alia Covaci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a good "base" recipie, but to make these the best(and stickiest/gooeiest) puffed wheat squares you have ever tasted, add about 10 marshmallows, a bit extra butter and a dash of vanilla.Presto amazing dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States