Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This cake has a bit of a wierd texture, but is awesomely sweet and sooooo moist. I have given out the recipe several times. It has been a huge hit at my house! I serve it as the base of a sundae with ice cream and a little chocolate syrup on top. Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hospers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maurice, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've made this a few times now. I cut down to 3 eggs and cook a little longer than 6 hours in the slow cooker, it doesn't have the texture of cake -but it's not supposed to. More like pudding/cake. We love it under vanilla ice cream or the next day for breakfast. Hey - how much worse is it than a doughnut??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I'm afraid that there is too much fluid in this recipie, as mine came out a very stange texture...not cake like at all. The flavor was very good, but the cake was heavy, wet and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This cake was a bit too moist and was a odd texture. Good taste if you don't like sweet cake, however I would only use 1/2 the sour cream and 1 less egg if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I managed to burn mine to an unwholesome crisp. I thought that it was supposed to be dry like an oven baked cake, so I let it linger in the crock pot for an hour extra. Not a good idea. Charred chocolate really smells bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDHARE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
The flavor of this cake was good, but mine was too moist. Next time I will cut the sour cream in half or reduce the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was very easy and delicious. I made it in my crock pot, but keep a watchful eye over it as the time stated in the recipe would have resulted in burning. It was done in 4 hours. We loved the crock pot version because I set it to warm after the cooking was done and we had a warm chocolate cake for hours. Not a recipe for dieters. Lots of sour cream and eggs in this one. this a keeper and I see myself making this one a lot...I may even try to come up with a vanilla or red velvet version! ADDENDUM.....I tried a vanilla version...yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, same amount of eggs, sour cream, oil, and water. Still used the choc chips. DELISH!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsysix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this was a good and easy recipe to have on hand when you need something in a pinch to take to a potluck. I baked it in a crockpot using the exact ingredients listed and baked it on low for 5.5 hours and it was perfect. I served it with ice-cream~~delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It's great because you can make it early in the day and it's ready later for company. Once it appeared fairly set, just a little jiggle to it, I turned the crock pot to warm until I was ready to serve. Needs to be served with ice cream, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ritzville, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I give this cake 5 stars for ease, but 3 1/2 stars for flavor, but I'm not a box mix fan. The sour cream and chocolate chips definitely help. When you need a quick no-fuss dessert that everyone likes, this is it. I always make it in the crock pot. It is supposed to have a moist pudding-y texture. Serve warm with ice cream, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States