Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made the mistake of trying to alter the ingredients per other reviewer's remarks. It came out too dry. Next time I will follow the recipe as it's written instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
this is really good! i cooked mine in the crock pot, i have a large, oval Rival. It took less than the suggested 6 hours- more like 4.5 hours then it began to smell like it was beginning to scorch, so watch yours the first time you make this cause i'm sure every pot is different. i didn't use the chocolate chips and i made it with low fat sour cream, and i had to use 2 smaller pudding packages (1.7 oz each) because the suggested size was not available to me. not sure if that made any real difference, but we enjoyed how gooey and fluffy this cake turned out, spoonable but not too sweet (it is not like eating brownie batter). i will make this again! Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this was a good and easy recipe to have on hand when you need something in a pinch to take to a potluck. I baked it in a crockpot using the exact ingredients listed and baked it on low for 5.5 hours and it was perfect. I served it with ice-cream~~delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Great in the crock pot--that was first way I made it. Easy and a great dorm room dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Wonderful, moist, and oh so easy. I don't think I would attempt to make it without the crockpot though. I spooned it out as it was VERY moist. Topped warm with ice cream. A true winner !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I followed this recipe exact and made it in the oven. It was very easy to make and delicious served warm with vanilla ice cream. The whole family agreed that it was a great dessert. I do agree that it doesn't have the texture and sweetness of traditional cake, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I use 1 cup sour cream and top with ice cream. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've made this a few times now. I cut down to 3 eggs and cook a little longer than 6 hours in the slow cooker, it doesn't have the texture of cake -but it's not supposed to. More like pudding/cake. We love it under vanilla ice cream or the next day for breakfast. Hey - how much worse is it than a doughnut??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I give this cake 5 stars for ease, but 3 1/2 stars for flavor, but I'm not a box mix fan. The sour cream and chocolate chips definitely help. When you need a quick no-fuss dessert that everyone likes, this is it. I always make it in the crock pot. It is supposed to have a moist pudding-y texture. Serve warm with ice cream, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It's great because you can make it early in the day and it's ready later for company. Once it appeared fairly set, just a little jiggle to it, I turned the crock pot to warm until I was ready to serve. Needs to be served with ice cream, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ritzville, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States