Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I'm afraid that there is too much fluid in this recipie, as mine came out a very stange texture...not cake like at all. The flavor was very good, but the cake was heavy, wet and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
The flavor of this cake was good, but mine was too moist. Next time I will cut the sour cream in half or reduce the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This cake was a bit too moist and was a odd texture. Good taste if you don't like sweet cake, however I would only use 1/2 the sour cream and 1 less egg if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I am in the process of making this cake, it should have been done 20 minutes ago, but the cake is still "jiggling", for lack of a better word. If I had known it was going to take this long, I would have gone for something less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I managed to burn mine to an unwholesome crisp. I thought that it was supposed to be dry like an oven baked cake, so I let it linger in the crock pot for an hour extra. Not a good idea. Charred chocolate really smells bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDHARE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This cake has a bit of a wierd texture, but is awesomely sweet and sooooo moist. I have given out the recipe several times. It has been a huge hit at my house! I serve it as the base of a sundae with ice cream and a little chocolate syrup on top. Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hospers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maurice, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It's great because you can make it early in the day and it's ready later for company. Once it appeared fairly set, just a little jiggle to it, I turned the crock pot to warm until I was ready to serve. Needs to be served with ice cream, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ritzville, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I give this cake 5 stars for ease, but 3 1/2 stars for flavor, but I'm not a box mix fan. The sour cream and chocolate chips definitely help. When you need a quick no-fuss dessert that everyone likes, this is it. I always make it in the crock pot. It is supposed to have a moist pudding-y texture. Serve warm with ice cream, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've made this a few times now. I cut down to 3 eggs and cook a little longer than 6 hours in the slow cooker, it doesn't have the texture of cake -but it's not supposed to. More like pudding/cake. We love it under vanilla ice cream or the next day for breakfast. Hey - how much worse is it than a doughnut??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I use 1 cup sour cream and top with ice cream. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States