Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Slow Cooker version: This is so good. It's very rich so you need a good vanilla ice-cream to go with it. It IS NOT a regular cake texture. It's not supposed to be. If you want a regular cake texture then make a cake the "regular way." I've heard of this kind of cake called a lava cake because it's kind of goopy--but not totally. I think next time I may try milk chocolate chips to see if it will be a little less rich--for the kids' sake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This does NOT work in oval shaped crockpots. I was so dissappointed! Burnt on the outside and runny in the middle. I am sure it makes a great cake if cooked the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I cut the sour cream to 1 cup, used 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup oil and the 4 eggs. baked in a bundt pan - is a very moist cake - kids love it, i have also used yoghurt(any flavour) in place of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
OUTSTANDING in the crock pot, be sure to have some ice cream with it to tone it down as it is VERY rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a good recipe that I've made several times, always a big hit! Only use 1 cup sour cream, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I didn't like the taste at all. It wasn't sweet enough and I could taste too much of the sour cream in it. The batter tasted better than the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was a tricky recipe to get right, but was definitely worth it once I did! I made mine in the crock pot. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. The outside burned to a crisp, but the inside cooked perfectly. I tried it again two days ago, but this time I stirred the batter every 30 min or so to help it cook evenly. Because of the texture, this did not mess up the cake. I still followed the ingredients and heating instructions. It was so delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T for the crock pot and mine was done in less than 3 hours on low! It was almost over done! I definitely say to watch it as it cooks, since the edges of mine are crunchy. Overall it tastes great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ice Cream Addict

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Don't know what size bundt pan this recipe calls for but i have a nordicware bundt pan and the cake overflowed and took 1 hr and 20 mins to bake, by that time the edges were burnt. Won't be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I am totally amazed at the number of reviews that mention this cake being too moist. It is a pudding cake! It is not a regular dry cake. I grew up on these chocolate pudding cakes mom made from scratch. Yummy!! Enjoy all that moist flavor, best of all with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States