Chocolate Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
O-M-G...HEAVEN in a baking dish!!! I used half white and half brown sugar in the mix (very sweet so will reduce the sugar by a few TBL next time), unsweet chocolate almond milk in place of milk, and 3Tbl Earth Balance butter in place of oil. I also used half plain soy milk and half water in place of water, didn't put any chocolate chips on top because I didn't have any, and only used half brown sugar on top. This was good warm and DIVINE cold. Next time I will use some dark chocolate chips or carob chips on top but then I would need to add like 3 more stars I'm sure, I don't know how this could get any better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe was a great big flop. I am a pretty good cook and make chocolate cakes and frosting from scratch often so I certainly know how to follow a recipe. I did everything right with this recipe, even subbed half&half for the water to improve taste per all the reviews. It was dry and not very chocolatey tasting. It resembled nothing close to pudding -- bread pudding or otherwise. I was utterly disappointed in every way with this recipe. I planned to make this cake for everyone over the 4th weekend but time got away from us. THANK GOODNESS because this recipe would have embarrassed me with its failing flavor and texture. Sorry -- just not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I doubled this for a 9x13 pan, but reduced the sugar like others. I left out the chocolate chips because I didn't have any on hand & it was still plenty sweet and chocolate-y! I did use all milk rather than the water on top to make sure it was nice and creamy, which it was! It reminded me of hot chocolate. My whole family loved this, I'm sure ill be making this all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was great! So easy and did not require a ton of time to time or dishes to clean up! Next time I am going to add a teas. of coffee to the hot water...well actually I might just use hot milk instead. Oh, I did sprinkle a little coconut -which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mielke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have chocolate chips but it seemed fine without. I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla for a chocolate-mint flavor and my husband and sons loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangleb0x

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Yummy, but make sure you divide the cocoa powder 1/4 for cake and 1/4 for sauce I was in a hurry and forgot and added all the cocoa to the cake part, and then had to add an extra 1/4 for the pudding part. Even with my mistakes it was awesome and extra chocolaty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
A little whiskey improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I just made this in an 8 inch round cake pan and it was delicious! Most of the time I hate chocolate but there are some rare odd times when I absolutely crave it, had one of those this morning so upon browsing this site came across this recipe. Already had all the ingredients on hand so decided to try it. I have no clue how the liquid mixture sinks down to the bottom upon baking but it somehow does and mine came out to be a liquid (kind of a cross between a syrup and a pudding) chocolaty amazing concoction on the bottom and a divine brownie on top. Anyway make sure that you do not stir the liquid in after pouring it on top as you're not supposed to. Just take it straight to the oven after pouring the water on top. The only things that I really changed was added some almond extract in with the vanilla extract in the hot water, and I only had like a half of a handful of Chocolate Chunks from the last time I made CC Cookies so not thinking that was enough for me, I took 8 melting centers hershey's kisses and put that on top along with the brown sugar/coca powder mixture. The only change I made other than these slight changes was I decreased the brown sugar TO 1/2 of a cup. It's plenty sweet like that, in fact I might decrease the white sugar to that amount next time as well. Would be perfect with vanilla ice cream although I only had mine with whipped cream this first time. Now excuse me while I go get myself another bowl of this deliciousness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Loved this cake! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Really good for my chocolate craving! I took another reviewers advice & microwaved it for about 2 mins. Then instead of vanilla to the hot water I added some instant coffee powder to make a mocha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States