Chocolate Pudding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I've been making this recipe for years. The only thing is that it says to bake for 40 minutes. I live in Colorado and it only takes 30 minutes, just something to keep in mind for your elevation. It will scorch here in 40 min. Someone said the cake had too much of a flour taste. Not true if you follow the directions and remember what elevation you're at. Take it from me, this is an awesome recipe. A friend said it wasn't sweet enough. It calls for unsweetened cocoa and that's what you get. It's also a flavor my family likes. If you want it sweeter then use a sweet cocoa. Whatever kind of cocoa you put into this recipe is the kind of flavor you will get. It just makes sense. It will be good whatever you use. Just remember to use the exact measurement of ingredients it calls for, you can't go wrong. So, I'm thanking you for this recipe! It's awesome and just asking others to remember where you live and what ingredients work for your elevation. I sign off as old hand at baking and trying to give sound advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy Ann
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Yummmmmmmmmmm... this was delicious! I just finished a piece, and this "cake" turned out to be exactly what I wanted it to be: light but still chocolatey, gooey, and so delicious! It's not like a full-fat dessert thats extremely rich and heavy. My alterations: upped the cocoa to 1/3 cup, little extra vanilla for flavor, a hand-full of chocolate chips, and used hot milk instead of water. Make and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Oh my gosh!! Chocolate heaven!! I NEVER double a recipe the first time I make it, but I'm glad I did this time. It would have all been gone in minutes. I didn't have a 9" square pan, so I doubled it. It was a nice fit into a 13x9. Just the right sweetness. I served it with whipped topping. It looked as good as it tasted. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This can also be made in the microwave! Mix the dry ingredients in a glass 2 quart bowl. Add the other ingredients as listed. Then microwave at 50% power for 9 minutes, turn dish, then cook high power for 5 - 7 minutes, until the top appears dry. Delicious with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Wonderful as all have said. One good point is that the cake batter is so thick it can be difficult to spread evenly in the pan. Using clean hands, lightly dip fingers in water and you can spread the batter by gently "pushing" and distributing it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
What a find! This is perfect for drop-in company because it's quick, easy, and full of ingredients that you keep on your shelf anyway. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This cake was very quick and easy, made with common pantry items. The cake is dense, with a slightly crispy crust, with a pudding like layer below. It was good the next day as well, just pop in the microwave. My husband and sons loved the intense chocolate flavor, I'll make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
A chocolate lover's dream! Fantastic still warm with whipped topping. Would not change a thing, except maybe to double the recipe! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I cooked half the amount for 20mins. Both the husband and I liked this but wanted it to be more cake so would cook it longer in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perversia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockport, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This cake is delicious and easy as advertised. Great ending for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States