Chocolate Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Well, I was excited but it didn't work out. Not sure what went wrong, but finally gave up. The chocolate kisses would not melt, instead got hard, so the candies wouldn't go in. Instead the chocolate broke as I pushed it in. How disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was skeptical of a recipe involving hard, dry salty pretzels with smooth, sweet chocolate, but I decided to try this one anyway because they looked interesting in the picture. My, those little M&M's on top are as cute as a button - providing you can get your chocolate kisses to melt before they burn and before the pretzels turn even harder. In the end, I can't decide which was worse - the burning, fuming chocolates, or the underlying, overbaked pretzels. I'm certain that the oven temperature recommended in this recipe is WAY off. My oven smoked up so badly I could no longer see them through the door, and when I opened it, the smoke that billowed out set off the smoke alarm, alerting the neighbors. What an embarrassing debacle (not to mention waste of money). I should have trusted my initial instinct and made something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Hershey kisses do not soften because they changed their chocolate ingredients. I used the Hershey creams and it worked much better. Also, if you are lucky, you can find butter pretzels that are in the shape of trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My wife and I made these the other night. Man am I going to gain weight! These are so simple and so good. Can't wait to try some of the variations that others have posted. Not sure what problems other people had, maybe they don't understand how chocolate holds its shape when it melts and over cooked it? We took the suggestion of one person and turned the oven down to 250 and baked them on parchment paper for 5 minutes. The waffle shaped pretzel snaps held the chocolate after it set perfect. AWESOME!!! We made an entire bag of pretzel in an hour. Yes, they are all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made with rolos are best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
We followed the recipe using milk chocolate Kisses and these were not edible. The chocolate burned before it ever got soft enough to press in the M&Ms. 350 is much too high a temperature. I hope that the original poster considers updating this recipe. Looks like this temp might work for hugs, but not for milk chocolate kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
OMG. These turned out great! My niece made them few months ago & I just realized I had saved this recipe! Totally yummy snack & great for a treat box! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is a very good concept- it combines sweet and salty wonderfully. The reason I am only giving this 4 stars is because of the heat it said. 350* would have been WAY too hot. I used another reviewer's suggestion and put the heat at 275*. I baked them for 2 minutes a batch. This combination of heat and time was perfect- the chocolate was gooey enough for the candy coated chocolate to sink in, but not too gooey that it made a mess. For the people that say the chocolate kisses never melted, they aren't supposed to fully. The purpose of baking them is to make them softer, not completely melted. I put them in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes and they set nicely. All and all these were very delicious and I recommend them highly if the heat is changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy and quick to make. Very chocolatey. Next time I will use the square preztels and some Rolos. Update: Rolos were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States