Chocolate Pretzel Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I think this will be a fun recipe to do with grandchildren. The cooking time was definitely more like 6 minutes before the chocolate got shiny and thus the M & M sunk into the chocolate and the kiss stuck to the pretzel. I used heart shaped pretzels and shades of pink and white for this bridal shower, Valentine's weekend sweet and salty addition to the table. I do think the rectangular pretzels provide more of the salty taste however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These were simple to make and so yummy. I loved the salt & sweet together. I used different type of kisses and each one melted at a different rate. The white with red peppermint softened better at six minutes at 200 degrees. The regular kisses at 5 min. The caramel center and "Andes" type mint kisses at 4 min. For this reason it is best NOT to mix the kisses while baking. Bake them with like kisses because you'll have a mess and frustration (some kisses will be in a puddle and the others not soft enough. I put mine in a green quart mason jar for gifts. Happy Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living4Him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great treat for my pre school kids to help with! Tip: I had trouble getting the melt right at 175, so I bumped it to 200 for the 2 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I'm rating it at 4 because I believe parts of the recipe are off: 1) You need to cook the kisses longer than 2 minutes. For me, it's 5 minutes. 2) I like to use Snyder's Snaps (but don't use the butter, the chocolate seems to fall off). 3) Don't put them in the fridge--the chocolate gets chalky. I'd LOVE to rate it at 5 because everyone loves ‘em, a great combo of salty and sweet. Just as others have stated you can use Hershey's Hugs (these take less time to melt) or even Rolos. The toppings are also limitless: various nuts (pecans or cashews), different m&m types, candy corn (at Halloween I used s'mores candy corn). The longest part of this recipe is pealing the foil from the chocolate. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mainland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've been making these for years with different combos - caramel kisses, Hugs, peanut butter M&Ms - they are all good. The trick is to take the kisses out at the perfect time - I've found it's 4 minutes at 200 degrees... I put them in little gift bags and add them to gifts. Great and easy, plus the kids can help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very easy and kids can do it too. I make a batch for me with just the pretzel squares, no M&Ms - one square on top and one on bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The oven temperature is definitely wrong! I had them in at 175 for 6 minutes and still wouldnt melt. I went to another site and it said 350 for 2 minutes. That was exactly right. I would recommend changing the oven temperature before burning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
i needed 6 minutes exactly at 175 for perfect squishiness for adding the M & M s. they disappear - so hide them if you are saving for something special. also, I also put on parchment paper. works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charshaff
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So so easy. It took about three minutes for the kisses to melt down perfectly. I love this recipe because my three and five-year-old boys can help me and there's pretty much no mess involved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Chace
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Quick and easy to make. They also look super festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States