Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I heeded other reviewers' warning about the dough being too dry and substituted the water for 4 teaspoons of buttermilk. My batter turned out perfect for use with a cookie press. The batch yielded 80 beautiful, delicious cookies. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just made these today. After reading the cookie press warnings, I decided to just roll the dough into 1" balls, top with a walnut half and bake. These taste just like little mounds of brownie. I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes. I found if I let them sit on the cookie sheet an additional minute to cool, they set better. I will definitely make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
changed 2 tsp of milk to 2 tbl of milk and added an extra egg. The cookies went through my cookier press just fine. (mechanical not electric). They do taste like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are awesome! Of course, like with all recipes, I've tweaked it. I forgot to add the salt first off..lol....I went to measure the cocoa powder and it slipped out of my hand, and dumped about 1/2c. into the mixing bowl...to comp that, I added an extra 1/2tsp of vanilla and a splash or two more milk. They are chewy and gooey!!! SO yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeLiz09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Adding an extra egg, and increasing the milk to 2 tablespoons and the vanilla to a full teaspoon made these cookies a cookie press dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin for 5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ceresco, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I adjusted/substituted the recipe by the following and they were perfect for the cookie press. 3/4 cup butter 2 beaten eggs 2 tablespoons milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very easy to make. only 10 minnites in the oven. the best cookies i ever ate!! this is a G$ resipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved these cookies i followed everyone else and added an extra egg, a full tsp. of Vanilla, and 2 tblsp. of milk. They came out like brownie cookies. I dont have a cookie press so I just rolled them into small balls and pressed them with the back of a spoon. Then after they came out I let them cool and I drizzled a vanilla glaze over them. Totally made them our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
4 stars because had to tweak the recipe. Used almost 1 cup (180g) of shortening, and 3-4 tbsp buttermilk. Very tasty and chocolaty. However, to prevent spreading next time, I will use indicated amount of shortening and just add the egg and buttermilk to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Even after adding an egg (2 total), increasing the milk to 2 tbsp, increasing the vanilla to 1 tsp, and adding an extra 2 tbsp of butter, the dough was too thick and sticky to make it through my press. I ended up rolling them into balls, pressing them down with the bottom of a glass, then dusting them with powdered sugar right out of the oven. (I used dutch process cocoa, though that shouldn't make a difference in this recipe.) Make these cookies - they're delicious - just don't try to put them through your cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States