Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
i agree w/everyone, it is not suitable for a cookie press. i was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I heeded other reviewers' warning about the dough being too dry and substituted the water for 4 teaspoons of buttermilk. My batter turned out perfect for use with a cookie press. The batch yielded 80 beautiful, delicious cookies. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Flavor wasn't bad. No luck with the press, I should have read the reviews. I made them as drop cookies, we got a ton of them. Maybe I will reduce the Coco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
What a disaster! the dough wouldn't even come out of my cookie press, so I added a little more milk to make it softer and it still wouldn't come out. I put it in the fridge for 30 minutes and it finally came out but the cookies weren't very pretty or tasty at all. I would not make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I give it four stars for potential. After reading all of the reviews I added a full teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg to compensate for the dryness that everyone spoke of. But found that it wasn't thick enough at all so added more flour! I finally decided that it wasn't the thickness that's the problem, but the stickiness. So I added a couple more tablespoons of margarine and it worked perfectly. I think that the recipe as it stands would work best if just more margarine/shortening was added. They pressed our perfectly for me after that and are delicious, like spritz brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I really wished I had read the other reviews before trying these. The recipe should be revised, moved to a different catagory, or removed. It is not a pressed cookie recipe. I added an additional egg to get it to work with my press, but not great for the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is not a cookie press recipe. My 3 year old wanted chocolate cookies from the cookie press and the dough was so thick I didn't even bother trying the press. I just made drop cookies instead. They were delicious, soft, and chewy. Tasted like brownies...Mmmmmmmmmm, but I had to give the recipe 3 stars because there was no way it would work in a cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I added more shortening and it was easier, but I don't think it was a very good press cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I agree with everyone else as well. The cookies are good but forget the cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I agree with the other bakers--recipe is too dry for cookie press. I added 2 more small eggs to the recipe, chilled dough for 1 hr. and used my cookie press and cookie stamps. Baking time varied with my gas oven. Good tasting cookie. From my experience, new recipes should be tried/tested before the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States