Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I made this cake for my boss's birthday and he LOVED it. I couldn't find devils food cake with pudding, so I used Duncan Hines moist devils food cake. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Made this for Thanksgiving and it received wonderful "reviews". Brought left overs to the office where it again was given a perfect 10!One correction this does not serve 24! It was 12 small slices but all agreed that it was rich and filling so small slices are the way to go! Easy to make and loved that I had this made 2 days before leaving me time for the rest of my cooking. Very easy. Do wish that all recipes would include a photo of the completed item!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Great cake, you won't be sorry you took the time to make this one. Next time am going to use a cream cheese icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I made this for a baking contest at work and won. it looked lovely and i got many compliments. everyone assumed it was really hard--but it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I think the next time I bake it, I will use cream cheese frosting instead of whipped topping. It just seems to need a little more flavor to me. i think this is actually a Pillsbury bake-off winner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Great cake... a really big hit at the last birthday party I made it for... frosting is not too heavy and praline added just the right amount of sweetness to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Fabulous cake was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Great tasting cake and it looks good too! However, I would only plan for a maximum of 16 servings (especially if you use two 8" pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Everyone I've served this to has said "this is the best cake I've ever tasted" - and I'd have to agree - very easy and SO delicious! The whipped cream is just sweet enough to compliment and praline layer, but not too sweet. I've made it twice now and has turned out perfect both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Cashew nuts were replaced for pecan. I made this for my friend on her birthday and she nearly had no chance to have it if I didnt specially keep a piece for her, cause the whole cake was gone in minutes. Also brought it to company and all raved for it. Thank you for a keeper, Eleanor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States