Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have made this cake time several times and its always a hit. I got the recipe off the back of a devils food cake mix. You do have to watch the praline topping as it will stick if your not careful but I've always been able to piece my cakes back together. I cover the whole cake in whipped cream place a few pecans around the center and edge plus a few chocolate curls for garnish it turns out very pretty. In a pinch you can use cool whip or cream cheese frosting but nothing beats the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I combined this recipe with the chocolate candy bar cake....OH MY DEAR...it was to die for...Thank you JJOHN32 and NOULLETTE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is my favorite cake but I use 1/4 C of Hazelnut creamer (coffee creamer) instead of the whipping cream with the brown sugar and butter. YUM!!!! For those having problems with the cake sticking to the pan, try parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Ok...not worth calories or time...Not again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rory
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
great cake, i didn't have brown sugar, but i think it didn't really change it, probably only in the presentation, amazing flavor....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wow,..... this has been the Birthday cake in our family since it won the pillsbury bake off..... a tip i use, when spooning the cake over the praline sauce, spoon first around the edge of the pan to seal, then fill in the middle, that way none of the delicious caramel will escape.... never put any wax paper or parchment on the bottom of the pans. If youwant you can substitute whipped topping for the real stuff, have done it both ways and the topping is actually less calories so you may have two peices....Yummmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUMMY! I had to bake it in a 9x13 for lack of pans, but everyone LOVED our Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious cake. It's in my top 5 now. Next time I will make it into a 3 layer cake. My 8 inch pans overflowed onto my oven and smoked up the house. I had no problems with the praline sticking to the pan. I used the Pam Baker's spray and released them after cooling for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I love this cake! Its in the Pillsbury cookbook and I have made it ALOT. It's yummy for sure! I usually slice a little off the top part so its more flat. Then I just eat the scraps too! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was looking for a good replacement Chocolate Praline Cake for my restaurant, since my baker's wasn't what it used to be, when I found this. It tastes wonderful!! The cakes work beautifully if you freeze the praline mixture before adding the cake batter, and then removing them from the pan within the first 5 minutes of coming out of the oven. Not one pecan stuck to the pan. My only problem is that when you take the cake out of the oven it is rounded on top so that when you flip it over it cracks down the center. Trying to figure out how to solve this problem...any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States