Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Cake was ok. Baked in 9" pan. Icing was good but I didn't add any granulated sugar - was plenty sweet without. Only put chopped snickers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icyweet
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Super delicious cake! I don't have the cake mix so I made the batter myself. It still turned out very yummy. The cake is so moist that the chocolate drips out with every bite. The praline is very very tasty. By far the best chocolate cake I ever had. (The cake pans and utensils were all licked clean). I am fussy with presentation though. Since this cake invokes stacking 2 layers together sandwiched in cream, it doesn't look too appealing. Therfore I have plastered the round edges to conceal the layering. It looks lovely and my husband loves it. I have attached a photo if you want to have a look. Will definitely make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icyweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This review is for the praline filling only. It is marvelous. I used it with the cake from another recipe and the chocolate buttercream frosting from a third to make my son's birthday cake. The praline stayed soft and came right out of the pan with minimal mess. This is going to be my go to for sweet rolls as well. (The 4 star rating is because the recipe called for a cake mix. I can't give a cake mix 5 stars, ever.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
good but too sweet didn't put whip cream on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
After reading their reviews I did spray the pans really well with butter flavored Pam Spray. I let the cake cool for 5 minutes and flipped it out on the cooling rack, smacking the bottom of the pan hard and it fell right out. Because I donated the cake to a bake sale for the Senior Center, I decided I wanted something sturdier than just a whipped cream filling so I used Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting from allrecipes. It had to sit out for an hour and held up wonderfully. I made chocolate curls to garnish it with and sprinkled a few more pecans on top and lightly drizzled caramel and chocolate on top. It was one of the prettiest cakes I have ever made and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
really good. pretty difficult to keep the praline from moving off to the edge when putting in the cake batter though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Got rave reviews on this one!!! I might add more whipped cream. Recipe is easy and looks like you went through a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
i luv ur creativity!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great recipe, now one of my favorites. I made exactly as instructed; however, putting praline mixture in freezer for 15 minutes is the key. In the future I will simply use Cool Whip instead of going through the trouble of making the whipped topping, cool whip is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I stayed up all night one time attempting to make this cake, but in the middle of the recipe for the praline part, it ended up cooking to the bottom of the pans. I've had this cake before properly made, but I just can't seem to do the praline crust right. I can't keep the praline layer from sticking to the pans. (I love this cake btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latoyaoneall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States