Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I don't understand some of these reviews. This is a chocolate POUND cake. It's suppose to be dense. This is the best recipe ever. I also mixed longer in between adding the eggs. Everyone loved it. We had it with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Simply the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this cake yesterday and have to let everyone know how GOOD it is.I decided to do half a recipe so put it in a loaf pan. Used one and one third cups sugar,made my buttermilk by putting one tablespoon white vinegar in a half cup measure and fill I it almost to a half cup,I saved enough room in the cup to add 2 tablespoons cooled brewed coffee and omitted the instant coffee. Used three eggs...also when you beat the sugar and eggs,really beat the heck out of it,with my hand mixer I beat it on high for about four and a half minutes and beat after each egg about a half minute,after reading another reviewers tip..this process comes in handy for a lot of cakes,it DOES make a difference so don't rush this part. Also being half recipe I didn't bake quite as long. My cake did split on top but this always makes it taste better to me and looks pretty. Also this cake doesn't need icing,is sweet enough without it and moist also. It has almost a brownie taste..I have a couple of favorite chocolate cake recipes and this one is joining them..thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The cake was near bland, like a washed out chocolate flavor. I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder, so I know it was not due to not having quality ingredients. I thought the coffee would enhance the chocolate and give it depth, but sadly, it did nothing of the sort. I am very disappointed with the outcome and will never make this recipe again. I made a chocolate ganache to pair with it to make up for the lack of flavor. If you are looking for an extremely light flavor, this is it. It wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Granados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
By far the best chocolate cake I've ever made. I boiled coconut milk and rum instead of water to make the coffee. I think I'll use decaf next time to avoid the caffeine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was the first home made pound cake I have baked. It is by far the best pound cake I have ever had. I guess you could say that I recommend this recipe. Top with some of your favorite vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Shh... don't tell my mother but this beats HER recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe deserves 4 stars as is. I made it a second time with the following changes, I omitted the coffee and used 1/4 cup extra buttermilk as another reviewer suggested, and I substituted 1 tsp of vanilla with almond extract, then topped with a chocolate glaze (also with almond extract in place of vanilla). With these changes this is the most moist and delicious chocolate cake I've ever tasted and made. It's also good with chopped walnuts and coconut sprinkled on top. Thank you for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was beautiful AND delicious. I placed raspberries in the center and a few around the cake; then dusted with confectioner's sugar. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The cake had little to no flavor. It was moist and baked fine, but it didn't have a chocolate taste at all. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This cake is amazing! I made this for my dads birthday and left it in the microwave for two days but even then it never lost its moistness. The only trouble I had was when I baked it, it took close to 1 hour and 45 min. Other than that it is perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States