Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was so incredibly moist! I made this in a bundt pan using bold coffee brewed at home, and when the cake was cooled, I used a white chocolate brandy glaze to drizzle over the top. Everyone loved it and devoured it, even though it was after a large thanksgiving dinner. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is good. I served it with caramel sauce, whip cream and frozen raspberries. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good! Very chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggiemae1962

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great moist cake - very chocolatey! I made this cake exactly like the recipe and it turned wonderful. - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome!! It is so moist. I only made two modifications. I added two sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 and used instant cocoa mix instead of the coffee. That really added a boost to the chocolate flavor. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the best chocolate pound cake I have ever tasted! It is very moist and dense, with a good chocolate flavor. I added a simple chocolate glaze icing and used only a splash of coffee in the cake batter. The buttermilk made the cake a tiny bit too tangy for my taste - I may substitute it with heavy cream next time. If you love the idea of a chocolate pound cake but have only found dry recipes, this is the one for you. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have to say i really didn't like this pound cake. I love a dense moist cake, but i didn't like the texture or the flavor of this one. It's very sweet - but not particularly chocolatey, and the texture is a little beyond dense - i can't think of the right word. It's too much. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was just ok for me. I needed a chocolate pound cake for a 3-D cake pan for one of my kid's birhtday parties and I tried this recipe after reading the spectacular reviews. The taste is great, but not over the top; however, I made two batches of this cake and tried it in several different cake pan, each time the cake fell in the middle. I think most of them are salvageable (kids won't notice once they are all decorated) but I am dissapointed. The next time I make a chocolate pound cake, I will try a different recipe. Good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
It was wonderful!!! I used a cup less sugar by accident but it was more than sweet enough. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If you like a dense chocolate cake this is a great one. Take the cocoa powder up to 1 cup if you really want heavy chocolate flavor. I took this up another notch by using the chocolate ganache recipe for icing. Yes, that seems over the top but you only need a sliver so it can feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States