Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I've made. I baked it in regular round cake pans for a truly divine layer cake. This cake was dense enough to hold up to fondant decorating and it tasted wonderfully moist! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmimom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious. I have been looking for a chocolate pound cake recipe that will be as good as my mothers - this one is very close. It is dense so it's difficult to get through a big piece. I will probably add a couple of minutes to cook time. Even though a toothpick came out clean, I think some additional time in the oven would have helped. It was a little too gooey in a small area. I am not deterred though, I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. This was quite possibly one of the best cakes I've ever tasted, and that's no small feat. Being chocoholics, my husband and I topped it with a chocolate ganache, but honestly it didn't need it. It was perfectly moist all by itself. Also, we omitted the coffee and simply added the hot water with 1/4 cup more cocoa and it was perfect. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Wonderful pound cake. Incredibly moist and yes, it's dense-- it's a pound cake for goodness sake, it's supposed to be! Anyone complaining about the density must not know what a pound cake is supposed to be like. I did add a heaping Tbsp extra cocoa, and used instant espresso since it's what I had on hand. It didn't remind me of a brownie at all, and wasn't tough or greasy on the outside as a few others experienced. Glazed with the satiny chocolate glaze from this site. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just put this in the oven. It was super easy to make, but was the consistency of soft serve ice cream and that's after I added another tbs of buttermilk. I hope it turns out ok. Really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made exactly as is. This cake was perfection. The women of the South judge their peers by their pound cakes. I am proud to say (not being born and bred here) that I passed. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Wow, that was the best pound cake I have ever made! We couldn't finish it all and so I froze it for a week. It tasted great frozen with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
From all the reviews, I was getting ready for an awesome cake. I made seperate ones for a pumpkin cake for my son's birthday party and both came out exactly the same. My guests were not oooing and aweing when they were eating this. I quickly found out why. It has hardly any chocolate taste to it at all. It's dense, but not moist. I was soooooo embarrassed! Why does it have such a high rating? Grrrr....NEVER AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious and rich. I use this for 3D cakes and the consistency and weight is perfect. I get many requests for this chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very good chocolate pound cake. I did beat butter for 2 min., then sugar for 5 min. and baked at 300 for 85 min. and it turned out great. I also added a chocolate glaze. Much better with age so prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States