Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Better than any store bought cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my friends birthday and she loved it! Its definitely pound cake, not a light and crumbly cake, its thick and rich. I topped it off with ganache and Oreo cookies. Big croud please, but if your feeding it to little kids, not at a night because they'll be bouncing off the walls after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was wonderful. I had never made a pound cake before and this came out perfect. Taste wonderful and was not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I bake weekly for my husbands chocolate addicted co-workers and this is their new favorite! They loved this with a simple ganache frosting filling the center and drizzles over the top and sides! I used 1/4 strong coffee from my keurig, and a 1/2 teaspoon of almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This cake was not a pound cake; it was a brownie. It was way too dense and chewy. It had no loft nor crumb like one would expect with a "cake". The taste was mediocre at best. The chocolate flavor was too delicate and it just needed a little something extra. I followed the recipe exactly and I am truly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! Super moist and dense. I make two round layers and pour hot fudge frosting over them. Rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinwart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was looking for a sturdy cake for a stand up cake. Unfortunately this cake did not rise much so it didn't fill the top of my pan. I followed the recipe except for cutting back on the sugar since I was going to frost it. It has an ok flavor and dense texture. I won't be bake again unless it was specifically requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I've made. I baked it in regular round cake pans for a truly divine layer cake. This cake was dense enough to hold up to fondant decorating and it tasted wonderfully moist! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmimom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious. I have been looking for a chocolate pound cake recipe that will be as good as my mothers - this one is very close. It is dense so it's difficult to get through a big piece. I will probably add a couple of minutes to cook time. Even though a toothpick came out clean, I think some additional time in the oven would have helped. It was a little too gooey in a small area. I am not deterred though, I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. This was quite possibly one of the best cakes I've ever tasted, and that's no small feat. Being chocoholics, my husband and I topped it with a chocolate ganache, but honestly it didn't need it. It was perfectly moist all by itself. Also, we omitted the coffee and simply added the hot water with 1/4 cup more cocoa and it was perfect. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States