Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Love the recipe and I didn't have to shop for strange ingredients. Not really chocolates like I evil packed but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly. I used it to make a 3D train cake (Wilton pan). I had enough left over to make 3 cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) and just tasted one. It was great. The train looks good, dense enough to stand up properly, and I anticipate it will taste just as good as the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a decadent chocolate cake,made it for the first time to serve for dessert and it was a hit, however I reduced the amount of sugar in the recipe and it was still a bit sweet so I will reduce that some more but it was a hit and a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent cake. I think you could actually use one cup of cocoa if you really want a dark chocolate. I have made this many times, and now throw in a cup of mini-chocolate chips. As is, it's a 5-star recipe, and w/additions it's equally great. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I tried baking this recipe today in a loaf pan and was able to produce 4 loaves (7x3") for 55min at 325F however after cooling down, the cake shrank / doesnt look good ...... ive been wondering why despite so many good reviews.... havent tasted it yet, will try it tom :-( No final rating yet until i taste it...... kinda disappointed with how it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe did make a good chocolate pound cake! I followed the recipe exactly except for the instant coffee granules. That is something I never have on hand so I used my instant espresso powder instead and it did give it a rich flavor. I did not use a Bundt pan, but instead used 2 loaf pans. The cake comes out pound-cake dense like it is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We chose this recipe for our wedding cake - first try. Fantastic! You really could scarf down the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The taste of this cake is great. I cooked it for 1.5 hours and it came out super moist and delicious. I did increase the cocoa to almost one cup as per the advice of others. However, even though I greased and floured the bundt pan, this cake really stuck to the bottom and I could only get it out in chunks...delicious chunks mind you! If you make it, grease and flour the pan VERY well! The only other reason I gave it only 3 stars was because the batter is incredibly thick...so thick that it was difficult for my mixer to beat without overheating! ...but I only have a hand held mixer. The taste though, is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've made this recipe 3 times in the past month with increasingly better results each time. Spending the time to cream the butter and sugar and gradually adding the egg is a critical step. The big difference from the first time is that I used my KitchenAid stand mixer instead of a hand mixer. Makes a world of difference. Here are the other changes I made to the recipe: Replaced 1/2 cup of the butter with 1/2 cup canola oil (adds moisture) Cooked for 1hr 30 min. instead of 1 hr 10 min.(makes it less brownie-like) Added 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter at the end (adds more chocolate flavor) Everyone enjoyed it at the holiday celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This cake turned out very moist and rich. I made it in a 10-inch round cake pan so it was about 3 inches thick and some people said it was too rich...I think they just don't like chocolate enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States