Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was beautiful AND delicious. I placed raspberries in the center and a few around the cake; then dusted with confectioner's sugar. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The cake had little to no flavor. It was moist and baked fine, but it didn't have a chocolate taste at all. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This cake is amazing! I made this for my dads birthday and left it in the microwave for two days but even then it never lost its moistness. The only trouble I had was when I baked it, it took close to 1 hour and 45 min. Other than that it is perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My 13-year-old daughter made this by herself and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This cake was good and easy to make. It was a little too sweet, so I will reduce the sugar by a half cup. Liked the settle hint of coffee. I plan to use this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the most deliciious chocolate pound cake I have made....I did put a light icing on it...so good....Froze it because I was going away and when it thawed out, it was soooooooo great....Dad enjoyed it very much.... Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Enos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it! Not crumbly and had a moist, dense, smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OMG! If this cake gets any better the second day I eat it, I will certainly float up to heaven! This is truly the best chocolate pound cake recipe I have ever made. (And I am constantly looking for the perfect chocolate pound cake recipe.) It has a nice crispy outside and a moist, tender, fudgy interior. I made it as written making sure to use room temperature ingredients. I added 3/4 cup semisweet choc chips to the batter at the end of mixing. I baked in a bundt pan on my convection setting at 300 degrees for 75 min. After I took it out I sat it on top a warm wet kitchen towel & cooled it for 20 min which helped it better release from the pan. Then I made a choc glaze over a low heat by using melted butter, canned milk, p sugar, choc chips and vanilla. After drizzling cake w the glaze I sifted p sugar over it. This cake is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Oh boy oh boy! This is the ultimate chocolate cake. You know that something tastes great when your guests ask to take a piece home :) So delicious, so moist, so chocolaty! Don't omit the coffee it adds a great subtle taste. I made cupcakes using this recipe and they also tasted great. Thank you for a PHENOMENAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This cake was amazing. I made this cake as a gift. It smelled so good, I made another one the next day to keep. It was wonderful. I don't understand the negative reviews or why others seemed to have a problem. I followed the recipe to the letter and the taste and texture was phenomenal. I used a high-quality cocoa powder (Pernigotti Cocoa). A cheaper quality cocoa powder may not have made such a rich cake. I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States