Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by STELLA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Wonderful cake,I used my pampered chef bundt stoneware , it took a little longer than the 70 minutes, i had to bake it for another 8 minutes due to the stoneware. Came out fantastic... I decorated it with white chocolate covered strawberries and powdered sugar. Stored in fridge overnight and served it the next day, some reviewers stated it tasted better the next day and it did. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Other than having too much batter for the pan, and the cooking time being way longer than stated... this cake was fabulous!! I did melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips and blended them in with the hot regular coffee (as opposed to strong) before adding to the batter... I will make this again, maybe in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I decreased the recipe to 4 servings. I omitted instant coffee and added 1/4 cup of mini choc chips. This perfectly filled a 6 mini bundt pan. Baked for 23 min in a convection oven. Absolutely delicious. The kids and hubby ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Ok I made this over the weekend and wasn't too impressed with the flavor but LOVED the moist texture. Anything chocolate has to sit for a day or two to allow the great chocolate flavors to come out so wait I will. This recipe is promising though and next time for me I will add in an ounce or two of melted chocolate to enhance a better chocolate flavor. I did add a handful or two of mini choc chips as well. I love my chocolate so I guess I expect a intense chocolate taste-if you like a mediocre choc taste-this is for you. Oh-My bundt is deeply hidden so I had to improvise and I was able to make 3 loaves and the cooking time was like 50-60 minutes. I did drizzle "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" over the top as well(I wasn't kidding about my love for chocolate)..Will make again trying the melted choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is the most amazing chocolate cake i've ever made, it's won hands down with all the family, so much so that i have numerous orders/ requests for more. It is a dense almost fudge like cake with just a hint of coffee to give it a nice lift. I love this cake so much, i just had to come back to write more. I recently thought, it is such a beautiful cake- I wonder if it would work as a vanilla/plain. I tried it, and no surprises, it is devine!!! To make substitute the cocoa for an extra 3/4cup of flour, discard the coffee, but add between 1/4cup and 2T of hot water to the mix, keep everything else the same and voila you have a stunningly beautiful vanilla/plain cake that people will be raving about for ages. The good thing about this cake also is that it keeps for days and still stays moist, just make sure you keep it in a sealed container, and if it's warm make sure you keep it in the fridge, especially if you are going ice it. Trust me, you won't be disappointed in this cake! Enjoy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mac

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Central Coast, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was the worst cake I ever made. maybe because I substituted soymilk (plus and acide) for the buttermilk, but whatever the case, it was a waste of eggs, flour, sugar etc. the batter looked beautiful but otherwise a real waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I don't have a bundt pan, so I used two regular loaf pans. I also used real coffee that was rather strong. The cake came out absolutely perfect. Chocolate pound cake is my favorite and this one was extremely moist and delicious. I topped a slice with strawberries in balsamic vinegar and it was absolutely heavenly. The only down side? It is utterly possible to eat the entire thing yourself and stab anyone who attempts to eat it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
AWESOME! I made this for my colleagues at work and it came out great. After reading reviews that said this was too much for a bundt/tube pan, I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a loaf pan and it was just the right amount. I was worried about the instant coffee because I have a deep seated aversion to anything with even the slightest hint of coffee flavor but you definitely couldn't taste it in the batter nor in the finished cake. I also folded in about a 1/2 c of semi-sweet mini-morsels before pouring it into the pan. It's not cloyingly sweet but sweet enough. Just the right amount of chocolate taste to satisfy chocolate lovers but not so much so that it turns off those who aren't that "into" chocolate. It was super moist and the density was just perfect for a pound cake. After it cooled, I dusted lightly with 10x confectioner's sugar for presentation. I look forward to making this over and over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made this for Christmas and my family LOVED it! I followed the recipe exactly and I agree with other reviewers: it takes a lot longer than stated to bake. I left it in the oven a little over an hour and a half. It was delicious - just the right amount of chocolate and moist too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
The best chocolate pound cake I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States