Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
OMG this was wonderful,My mother-n-law asked me or a Chocolate Pound cake for mothers day. I have tried one once before and it was a disaster so I came here searching and decided on this one. She is a HUGE food critic and she LOVED LOVED LOVED this cake. The only thing I did different was I added a 1/4 cup melted choc. chips to the batter last. I cooked it 70min and that was perfect. It had a wonderful taste and texture. I will be making this one again. One tip make sure you have a big enough pan I have a bundt pan that holds 12 cups to the rim, I used a bigger tube pan and thank the lord I did because I would have had a huge overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Home Town: Benson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is SO good! VEERRRY moist, it kept for DAYS! After we had our first pieces I refrigerated it and it was even BETTER the next day!! MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have never had such good chocolate cake. It was moist and rich and WONDERFUL!! I didn't have and cocoa powder, so I used unsweetened chocolate and reduced the butter to 1 1/4 cups. 1 square is equal to 3 Tbsp powder + 1 Tbsp butter. Per the review that suggested reducing the temp, I lowered the temp to 300, but it took 1 hour 40 minutes to cook. I will be following the recipe cooking instructions for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Bakers have been having trouble with this cake recipe, which is in my Hershey's Cookbook, because the instructions are incorrect. Use either a 12 cup Bundt pan or a 10" tube pan. Bake it for 1 hour and 20-25 minutes. Use a cake tester which is long, not a toothpick which is too short. If you make these changes, you will have the perfect chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
An amazing cake! I bake it all the time, even used it to make my friend's wedding cake. It's moist, dense and has lots of chocolate flavour! It stays well and doesn't dry out, goes well with many kinds of frostings, but also tastes great all by itself. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome pound cake. I baked the cake in individual bundt pans - for about 25 minutes. They came out perfect! I am not a huge chocolate cake fan, but this was fantastic. Very rich and creamy - As other reviewers stated, I beat the butter and sugar for about 3 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I took other reviewers' advice and baked the cake for 90 minutes. With my oven this was too long and the cake was a little dry. Next time I will try the suggested time and hopefully it will turn out better. Despite being dry, the cake tasted fine and looked beautiful when dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I can only give this recipe one star at this time because when I did try it as written, I had to throw the entire cake away. Though it "tested" done by the time listed, it was completely raw in the center and the cake "fell", and I mean "fell". I have never had that happen before and I wasn't happy about throwing away something with so many expensive ingredients in it. Based on all of the other reviews, I am going to give this recipe one more try, but I'll either bake this for a full hour and a-half like my regular poundcake recipe, or I'll split the batter between two pans. I know that this has to be good! I'll rate this after I try it once more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is an awesome pound cake. I added 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and coated it with chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
While this cake was definitely moist, I guess I was just expecting a little more from this cake with all the positive reviews...I did cut the sugar by 1/2 cup, but followed the rest to a tee. My husband ate a piece as soon as it cooled and said it was "alright". I wrapped the rest up and refrigerated overnight (as suggested by other reviews), tasted it today and it still tasted just "okay" to me. I used some more expensive ingredients to makes this cake so I don't want to just toss it - I plan on making a glaze or something to give the rest of the cake a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States