Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Excellent chocolate cake, and I'm not even much of a cake person, I'd just made it for company...but it was excellent. It needs an icing, though...I used the satiny chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This cake is absolutely fab, but a little rich the way it is described. I didn't have 5 eggs so I used three, and instead of using 3 sticks of butter I only used 2 trying to be a little figure friendly! I baked for about an hour and a half in a gas oven at the suggested temp. My cake turned out great even with the changes. I served with chocolate sauce and raspberries. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I have never had an easier baking experience! This is a fail-safe recipe. My family thinks this is the way a brownie made with pudding would taste like. I have made this probably over 10 times and it always turns out well. I add an extra egg. I always follow the recommendation of using extra buttermilk and never frost, it's so perfect! Make it! Make it! Make it! And you will never regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe is absolutely fabulous. I was looking for a rich chocolate cake that would hold up well to decorating, and this was exactly what I had hoped for. The only things I did differently was I used a dark cocoa powder and strong brewed coffee not instant. This cake tastes like the most awesome brownie you ever put into your mouth only its cake!!!It is very dense and moist, yet holds up well and is not too crumbly. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Wow. This case is really moist and tasty. The only changes I made are (1) I used powdered butter milk - you blend it in with the flour and use regular milk ,(2) I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose flour, and (3) I added a teaspoon of cinnamon. The only problem I had was with the cake sticking to the pan and bits of floor on top. Next time I will just oil the pan and let it sit in the pan a little longer than 20 minutes so that it won't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Delicious. I received so many compliments on this cake! I did not use coffee but instead brewed a very strong cup of Earl Grey because I just don't drink coffee and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
OMG this was wonderful,My mother-n-law asked me or a Chocolate Pound cake for mothers day. I have tried one once before and it was a disaster so I came here searching and decided on this one. She is a HUGE food critic and she LOVED LOVED LOVED this cake. The only thing I did different was I added a 1/4 cup melted choc. chips to the batter last. I cooked it 70min and that was perfect. It had a wonderful taste and texture. I will be making this one again. One tip make sure you have a big enough pan I have a bundt pan that holds 12 cups to the rim, I used a bigger tube pan and thank the lord I did because I would have had a huge overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Home Town: Benson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is SO good! VEERRRY moist, it kept for DAYS! After we had our first pieces I refrigerated it and it was even BETTER the next day!! MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have never had such good chocolate cake. It was moist and rich and WONDERFUL!! I didn't have and cocoa powder, so I used unsweetened chocolate and reduced the butter to 1 1/4 cups. 1 square is equal to 3 Tbsp powder + 1 Tbsp butter. Per the review that suggested reducing the temp, I lowered the temp to 300, but it took 1 hour 40 minutes to cook. I will be following the recipe cooking instructions for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Bakers have been having trouble with this cake recipe, which is in my Hershey's Cookbook, because the instructions are incorrect. Use either a 12 cup Bundt pan or a 10" tube pan. Bake it for 1 hour and 20-25 minutes. Use a cake tester which is long, not a toothpick which is too short. If you make these changes, you will have the perfect chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States