Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was delicious. I used this recipe to make a shaped birthday cake for my son. The pan only took 5 cups of batter, so I made mini bundt type cakes with the rest. It was very moist and kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow!!!!! Very moist. I made this pound cake with no ingredient changes. I did how ever bake it at 285 degrees for about 1 hour and 30-40 minutes. I added 10 mins at a time after it baked the first 1 hour and 20 mins. and I kept checking for doneness. Well worth the effort and wait. Absolutely no burnt chocolate taste or bitterness from over cooked chocolate. I had many request for this cake and was asked to make one for my husband's small town cake auction for a local charity. You've got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Florida, USA
Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I was worried at first because it seemed a bit greasy out of the pan, but I let it cool, wrapped it up and kept it for the next day. When I cut into it 24 hours later it was moist and rich and delicious. Half of it went into a chocolate cherry trifle and the other half was thoroughly enjoyed all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I had never made a chocolate pound cake before and this one came out great! Though I did dust it with confectioners' sugar for a nice presentation like it said, but the cake was so moist all the sugar soaked in, so that didn't last long. Though I think I might try to add a glaze or chocolate chips to add a bit more chocolate flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pulaski, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. My family loved it!! I love the flavor the coffee adds to it. I did have to bake it for an hour and 20 min, because the toothpick didn't come out clean after the recommended time...but other than that it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Swink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cake is great! It tastes like a brownie with the crunchy top and edges and moist on the inside. I plan on making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didnt make in a bundt pan, but instead springform pans and made a 2-tier birthday cake by doubling the recipe, and out of each recipe making a 10" and a 7" cake. Good flavour, but next time I wouldnt try to absorb so much liquid, it was almost a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought this cake was the worst cake I have ever made. Tasted like an under cooked brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving as an alternative to traditional poundcake. I covered it with a simple chocolate drizzle, and it was a major hit with my family. I'm looking forward to making it again! Next time, I want to try to make a thinner version of the icing that one typically sees on a German chocolate cake -- coconut, nuts, etc., just lighter than normal because the cake is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this into cupcakes for a birthday party. Same temperature, just shorter time (they took almost 20 minutes). Fabulous! Moist, a little on the fudgy-brownie side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States