Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Now this is one of the best pound cakes that I have ever made and or eaten. It is rich, and extremely and I mean extremely good. Although a bit time consuming it is easy to make, and baked in my oven at exactly 60 minutes. I did however make a few changes such as, cake flour instead of all purpose flour, and instead of dusting with confectioners' sugar I applied a to kill for chocolate glaze. Well anyway thanks for the recipe, and I'll definitely be making this one again. Till next time, peace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent! I have made this 2 times now. Everyone loves it! I made the recipe as stated. I must say you need to grease the pan with Crisco. I greased it the first time with butter and it really stuck. With Crisco, it came out great. I also made a mixture of 1/3 cocoa and 2/3 flour to dust it with. Came out beautifully. I drizzled a satiny chocolate glaze (found on this site) on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
don't overbake. true that when it's warm, it resembles the pudding-texture of lava cake. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was delicious. I used this recipe to make a shaped birthday cake for my son. The pan only took 5 cups of batter, so I made mini bundt type cakes with the rest. It was very moist and kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow!!!!! Very moist. I made this pound cake with no ingredient changes. I did how ever bake it at 285 degrees for about 1 hour and 30-40 minutes. I added 10 mins at a time after it baked the first 1 hour and 20 mins. and I kept checking for doneness. Well worth the effort and wait. Absolutely no burnt chocolate taste or bitterness from over cooked chocolate. I had many request for this cake and was asked to make one for my husband's small town cake auction for a local charity. You've got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Florida, USA
Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I was worried at first because it seemed a bit greasy out of the pan, but I let it cool, wrapped it up and kept it for the next day. When I cut into it 24 hours later it was moist and rich and delicious. Half of it went into a chocolate cherry trifle and the other half was thoroughly enjoyed all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I had never made a chocolate pound cake before and this one came out great! Though I did dust it with confectioners' sugar for a nice presentation like it said, but the cake was so moist all the sugar soaked in, so that didn't last long. Though I think I might try to add a glaze or chocolate chips to add a bit more chocolate flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pulaski, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. My family loved it!! I love the flavor the coffee adds to it. I did have to bake it for an hour and 20 min, because the toothpick didn't come out clean after the recommended time...but other than that it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Swink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cake is great! It tastes like a brownie with the crunchy top and edges and moist on the inside. I plan on making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didnt make in a bundt pan, but instead springform pans and made a 2-tier birthday cake by doubling the recipe, and out of each recipe making a 10" and a 7" cake. Good flavour, but next time I wouldnt try to absorb so much liquid, it was almost a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States