Chocolate Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made this recipe because my husband LOVES chocolate pound cake. I did notice the baking powder being left out, but I just added it when I put in the salt. I also added an extra tablespoon of cocoa since he loves chocolate so much. I also left out the nuts because he doesn't like them and I left it plain, no glaze. It turned out absolutely delicious! It was very soft and chocolatey! I think he actually liked it better than his mom's but he wouldn't admit it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe! Made for a bake sale. Was the first ones gone. Someone even bought the samples when we were sold out of cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made this with recommendations of Floridatreasure1983. Taste good, not too sweet, nice texture (light for a pound cake), took abit longer to bake than noted (for me at least). Would bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used floridatreasure's modifications and it is AWESOME! It is exactly the dense, dark and lovely consistency I was hoping for. FYI - for those making cupcakes, this recipe yields 24 and you will need to reduce the baking time to 25 minutes or when the tops spring back when lightly touched. I will use this recipe for every chocolate cupcake I make from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I had never made a cake from scratch before. I don't think I watched the cake well enough and cooked it a little long for my oven, though I followed the time on the recipe. The cake looked really pretty. I even took a picture and sent it to my sisters. The glaze was wonderful! I believe if I had paid closer attention to my cake, it would have turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
First, let me say that the baking powder was left out of the directions part but was in the ingredients section. Second, I added it with the sifting of the flour and the other dry ingredients. I must say that I am totally sastisfied with this recipe. I want to send in a picture of my version, how do I do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Tried it did not work for me was not dark enough or chocolate enough will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenlrob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this and it was very pleasing. The consistancy is wonderful - very moist, which seems to be a dissapearing trait in cakes nowadays. Next time I make it, though, I will add a layer of raspberry jam in the middle. The amount of cocoa in this recipe gives the cake colour and a bit of a chocolaty flavour, but it tastes divine with the jam, and the tastes compliment each other. I also made mine with walnuts on top instead of pecans, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good, VERY rich. I used the modifications published by floridatreasure1983 in her review, and really, really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
i was a little scared by the first review as i use the reviews to help in my decisions when using these recipes but decided after reading a few more that i would tweek it just a bit and use it any way and it was great! my changes were as follows and believe me or check my profile sweets are my addiction and after the tweeks everyone who tried it wanted the recipe and my love who is especially particular raved about it, its a keeper!! i used all butter no shortening, i cut the flour to 2 c flour & used 1 1/2 c cocoa for a richer chocolate flavor , i just cut the sugar back a little and used some brown as follows 1 1/2 c wht sugar & 1 c dark brn sugar packed, 1 tsp each baking powder & baking soda & switched the milk to buttermilk for that homemade taste. i cut the vanilla to a tsp, as i said im a chocolate lover!! lol!! lastly i switched the nuts for chocolate chunks and iced with vanilla, striped with melted chocolate, filled the center with hershery hugs and what a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States