Chocolate Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This was very good. My cake was moist and perfect. I made the following changes though: I didn't have enough sugar, so I subbed 2 c Splenda and 1 c brown sugar. Also, the cake was done in 1 hr, 15 min. Adding 15 more minutes to the cake would have made it too dry I think-- just watch in your oven the first time. I frosted it with some melted chocolate chips that I thinned with a bit of evaporated milk. Next time, I think I will stir the cocoa in with the flour-- it might be a bit easier to combine with the batter then stirring it in the last minute. Might try some differant extract flavors instead of the vanilla-- orange, raspberry, or almond would all be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I used this recipe to make a friend's wedding cake, and it was a hit!! A delicious moist cake with just the right density. I left out the cocoa and added lemon extract to make a white layer as well, and have been asked to supply one for a party! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Wonderful chocolate pound cake, my family really enjoyed it in a bundt cake form with chocolate frosting drizzled over it. The cake was moist and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is the closest recipe I have ever found to my husband's grandmothers! He said it taste just like hers, which is a huge compliment! I've been trying to get her to teach me how to make it before the recipe is lost forever, but she's one of those cooks who doesn't measure anything, so it is really hard to pin down the actual measurements. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe. I tried mixing together the powdered sugar, cocoa and heavy cream like someone suggested and it turned into whipped cream instead. (I guess I stirred it a little too much!) But this cake does not need anything!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
This recipe was wonderful, I made it on Valentine's Day, added some fresh strawberries and chocolate sauce on the plate and the kids and husband loved it! I iced it with a mixture of cocoa powder, confectioner's sugar, and heavy cream while it was still warm and let it soak into the cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I had a recipe similar to this years ago and misplaced it. I am glad I stumbled upon this one. It is one of the only ones I found that does not call for the addition of coffee. (call me crazy) I do not enjoy the flavor of chocolate and coffee. This is a moist cake (careful do not overbake) with a nice texture. I do make a chocolate glaze and pour over the top, very chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought the recipe was pretty bad. For a pound cake you always expect a rich, moist cake. This was neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Well, here it is, 23 July 2008, hurricane Dolly is headed for our Texas coast. Thank goodness we are not getting the direct hit. My sixteen year old wants a chocolate pound cake, I made this one and it was wonderful comfort food in our time of need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was a very good pound cake. I think it tasted better the second day. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze to frost it. Next time, I will add miniature chocolate chips to the cake batter for more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I didn't like this cake. I actually threw it away. It was very heavy and not super moist. Perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States