Chocolate Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Freddy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This cake was a hit at our house during the Valentine's Day. I did add 1/2 cup more of unsweetened cocoa powder. I also substituted buttermilk for the 1 1/8 cup of milk. I finished with a fudge frosting and topped with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This looks delicious! We're making it as soon as we get out of this snowstorm and to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaroLime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This chocolate cake was OK, but I won't make it again. I was looking for a more "chocolatey" cake. I'll stick with one of my tried-and-true. For the cost of ingredients and the time - not worth it. Sorry.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this last night, it had a good chocolate taste, however, it was very very sweet. I feel too sweet for a chocolate pound cake. And that was with out an icing, I served with whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I did decrease the cooking time by about 10 minutes, cake was moist and delicious with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. It was moist enough, but not nearly chocolatey enough, and I wasn't compelled enough by it to make my own adjustments to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Excellent cake- moist yet tender. Better after it cools. Just as good alone as it is with a thin chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love cakes. I make them all the time. I have to say this has to be THE worst chocolate cake I have ever had. It didn't have the consistency of regular pound cake. Also the taste was off. In my opinion it does not have enough sugar. I won't eat the rest of the cake, and I sure will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made this for my Dad's 63rd birthday and he absolutely loved it.I choose this recipe because its very easy to follow and can be whipped up quite quickly as opposed to other recipes which can be too time consuming. This one will always have a place in my recipe box.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyAustralian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Well, here it is, 23 July 2008, hurricane Dolly is headed for our Texas coast. Thank goodness we are not getting the direct hit. My sixteen year old wants a chocolate pound cake, I made this one and it was wonderful comfort food in our time of need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States