Chocolate Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Used half butter and 1/2 Smart Balance in place of butter and shorteneing. Turned out great but with less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Have to figure out what went wrong, this cake was very dry, I went by the direction, maybe cocoa powder was bad,couldn't find an expiration date. The cakes surface was so hard I couldn't insert toothpick, not good at all, might try adding chocolate pudding next time. Family still ate it,I wouldn't have felt bad if they had not eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ni Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Recipe is perfect, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Wonderfully moist, dense, firm chocolate cake--definitely my go-to recipe for chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I halved this recipe and it made a generous 9x5 loaf that was dense and moist with a nice, gentle flavor. I'll definitely be making this again, but perhaps with some chocolate chips to make an even richer chocolatey treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Rivals my great-grandmother's pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
If you love pound cake, you'll love this! Someone had reviewed that this cake was dense and heavy. Well, yeah - it's a pound cake! I had to cook the cake a full 15 minutes longer than the recipie states, maybe it was my oven, but it was still batter in the middle until I left it for a bit longer. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
OMG MY LOVED THIS RECIPE...very easy and very mosit. When I bite into it just melt in my mouth also I make some homemade chocolate frosting to top it off. also my husband LOVED IT HE had 2 pieces and a full glass of milk.......I have saved this recipe and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe to customize. I used evaporated milk instead of whole milk, this gave it richness. I also added dark chocolate mint morsels, this gave the cake a wonderful mint taste and fudgey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Extremely easy! I've made this twice and it was perfect both times. Very moist with the perfect crust. I shared some with my mom last week and she insisted I had used her old family recipe. It was hard convincing her I had not. This cake will become a staple in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States