Chocolate Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Recipe is perfect, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Wonderfully moist, dense, firm chocolate cake--definitely my go-to recipe for chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I halved this recipe and it made a generous 9x5 loaf that was dense and moist with a nice, gentle flavor. I'll definitely be making this again, but perhaps with some chocolate chips to make an even richer chocolatey treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Rivals my great-grandmother's pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
If you love pound cake, you'll love this! Someone had reviewed that this cake was dense and heavy. Well, yeah - it's a pound cake! I had to cook the cake a full 15 minutes longer than the recipie states, maybe it was my oven, but it was still batter in the middle until I left it for a bit longer. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
OMG MY LOVED THIS RECIPE...very easy and very mosit. When I bite into it just melt in my mouth also I make some homemade chocolate frosting to top it off. also my husband LOVED IT HE had 2 pieces and a full glass of milk.......I have saved this recipe and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe to customize. I used evaporated milk instead of whole milk, this gave it richness. I also added dark chocolate mint morsels, this gave the cake a wonderful mint taste and fudgey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Extremely easy! I've made this twice and it was perfect both times. Very moist with the perfect crust. I shared some with my mom last week and she insisted I had used her old family recipe. It was hard convincing her I had not. This cake will become a staple in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicioius, moist cake, not quite as dense as I am accustomed to. Everybody liked it. One problem; the recipe was enough for two bundt cake pans! End result I had two cakes - both are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolynb12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
After reading one of the reviews I too doubled the cocoa and since I only had buttermilk I used it instead of regular milk. This turned out very moist. While I am a huge fan of pound cakes I think I prefer them more traditional where you taste the Vanilla and butter. It just seemed even heavier than most, but very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States