Chocolate Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I decided to give this recipe a try after loving the caramel popcorn one. I popped my own popcorn in a pot. After reading some reviews about the popcorn being too greasy, I cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Melted the butter first (that makes it easier to incorporate the cocoa powder) and then add the corn syrup, cocoa, and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. After letting it boil for 2 minutes, I took it off the heat, and stirred in the vanilla and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. The mixture starts to foam after adding the baking soda; I immediately poured over popcorn and baked for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. The popcorn was not greasy whatsoever. One tip: it tastes better the day after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This popcorn is so yummy! My husband and kids love it. Very crispy and chocolately and delicious! We make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Turned out awesome!!!! It was chocolately, crisp and I got a lot of compliments! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made it slightly more healthy by using one cup of honey in place of the sugar and corn syrup. I still prefer caramel corn, but I think it would be great to mix the two kinds together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this the same time I made caramel popcorn so instict should've told me to bake it for an hour but I like to follow a recipe. Anyway, it was too chewy. So having them side by side the caramel was the clear favorite and since they are the same amount of work we'll just stick with caramel. I'm glad to have tried the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was good. I think it would taste better with less cocoa. The chocolate was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
here's a huge tip: do not use microwave popcorn or it will be too oily and rich. air pop the correct amount, follow the directions, although you must stir it around while it's cooling or it will all stick together, and you will have a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Mmmmmm Mmmmmmmm, my oldest son wanted chocolate popcorn and I ran across this recipe and was so happy I did. I think I made a bit too much popcorn for the chocolate but we were still pleased. Next time I will make less popcorn and there will soooo be a next time for this yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Crisp, chocolately, and even visually appealing. Excellent! Perfect for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very Tasty, but sweet, next time I might try adding a little less sugar. I used olive oil in place of the butter and it was still yummy. For a little variety I may use peanut butter or brown sugar next time. All in all this was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States