Chocolate Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I am anxious to try this recipe. I have a much more basic recipe. It suggests you use a jar of carmel ice cream topping to pour over the top which might be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I make a similar version of this cake but I use a chocolate cake mix for the cake, top the poked hole cake with butterscotch (caramel) sauce (and sometimes sweetened condensed milk in addition to the butterscotch sauce), sprinkle it with Heath / Skor bits, and top the cooled cake with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Sinchy cake. Very easy to make. Check cake before the 50-60 minutes are up. My cake came out in 45 minutes. I used two 7 oz bags of Werther's Original Chewy Caramels. Took about three minutes to melt in the microwave. This is a VERY rich cake. I recommend Dryers Vanilla Bean Ice Cream to go with it. Yum! A little slice of this stuff goes a long way! Definitely better when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Great tasting cake. Will try cake recipe with other fillings or glazes also. I think next time I make this recipe I'll use the carmel ice cream topping instead of melting carmels since it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I love this cake. It goes together so easily and is delicious! I took a shortcut and used caramel ice cream topping. It was good but if you have the caramels, definitely use them because the topping was soaked up by the cake instead of being gooey caramel with cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Using Werther's Original for the caramel topping was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
If you like gooey and sweet & chocolate and caramel, this is a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I don't know why but the cake came out tasting like clay. I don't think I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I made this for Fathers Day and it was a hit! I substituted 5 oz milk chocolate chips melted in microwave instead of unsweetened chocolate, 3/4 C. plain nonfat yogurt and used only 1 1/4 C sugar.I also used regular ice cream caramel topping. My family loved it!!I only gave it four stars because the middle was still a little sticky and the edges were almost overdone. I didn't think it was too sweet- just right with either vanilla ice cream or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
this recipe was ok but a letdown. the flavor was nothing outstanding. I would have been happier with turtle brownies. by the way, I only had to bake mine for 35 minutes. Also, I poured the caramel all over the top, as getting it perfectly into the holes was a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States