Chocolate Pizzelles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Good but much softer than normal pizzelles. Also beware of chunkier hazelnut morsels getting stuck on the pizzelle iron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe. They’re very good with powdered sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. I wanted to leave out the hazelnuts since I was making a separate batch of hazelnut pizzelles. I also like to make sure I have some that those with nut allergies can enjoy. So I left out the hazelnuts but added 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I left out the hazelnuts and added a little extra cinnamon. The batter was very easy to work with and the recipe made about fifty 4" pizzelles in my Cuisinart Pizzelle Press. I cooked them on the highest setting (5) and they came out perfect. They come out a little soft and harden as they cool....One less egg makes them a less soft and they seem to taste better if you make them the night before. Try putting marshmallow fluff or peanut butter between two of them and make delicious sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
loved these cookies! i borrowed my mom's pizzelle maker for these and they taste just like my great aunts and grandmother made. for me, these cookies just scream christmas. thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made these the other night and they stick to the iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Followed the recipe and they turned out ok-- wasn't a fan of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made these because my husband thinks all cookies should be should. they were ok but I wasn't that impressed. They were easy to make but I do prefer that old-fashioned anise flavored pitzelles I remember as a kid!! I think if they were a little more chocolate-ly maybe I would like them. But husband really likes so they will be made again but I may add mini chocolate chips and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States