Chocolate Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Chocolate Pinwheels were a favorite of mine growing up! These cookies were delicious.. the only problem I had was the chocolate layer being a little drier than the vanilla layer, and had a tendency to crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These cookies have a very good flavor and are not too sweet. The dough is pretty easy to work with as well. I have been looking for a chocolate pinwheel cookie recipe that calls for cocoa instead of chocolate chips or baking chocolate, both of which are expensive and difficult to find where I live. Since I couldn't find one I adapted this recipe and it turned out great! I mixed the wet ingredients and then divided the mixture in half and added half the dry ingredients less two tablespoons of flour along with 2 tablespoons cocoa to one half of the wet ingredients and the rest of the dry ingredients to the other half of the wet ingredients. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Really good. I made a double batch, so I just made the recipe twice: one chocolate (2 squares chocolate), one vanilla. I chilled the rolled dough-log overnight. Since I only had unsweetened chocolate, they weren't too sweet, so I sprinkled some white decorator sugar on them before baking. I had 48 1/4"thick, 2-1/2"diameter cookies, baked for 8 minutes. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
These are pretty good. I make them following the recipe during most of the year. But at Christmastime I leave out the cocoa and tint 1/2 red and the other 1/2 green. Then I brush them with milk and sprinkle with colored sugar. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
these cookies looked perfect, and tasted as good as they looked! i did bake one batch a few minutes longer than recommended, until the 'vanilla' part started to brown, and the chocolate flavour came out better. i'd definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I found this dough extremely difficult to roll, even after chilling. They tasted good, but my pinwheels didn't look nearly as nice as the picture, but that was probably my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I found this recipe very simple and the cookies turned out great. I didn't use chocolate in the recipe, but rather red and green food coloring for Christmas cookies as another rater suggested. Thanks for the recipe. Will be using again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made two versions, one as written, and one for Christmas, with food coloring and colored sugar. I do not like the chocolate version, it tastes very salty. I'm not quite sure why! I used good Ghirardelli chocolate, but it just doesn't taste good. The Christmas version are much better! I colored half the dough green, and put red sugar on it, and put green sugar on the remaining batter. One thing I would change is to eliminate spreading the dough with milk. Once in the oven, the milk and sugars ran together and made quite a mess, so the cookies have a kind of "runny" look, but they taste pretty good. I'll try them again, with modifications and no chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great recipe, really easy to make.. made them for my husband's boss for christmas.. had to make more because we were eating them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these cookies, for the first time, this Christmas. My family raved about it even though I had made 4 other types ... these were their favorite. I used powdered unsweetened chocolate, approx 4-5 tablespoons and 4-5 teaspoons of white sugar, instead of squares. I took a members advice and rolled the dough out between 2 pieces of parchment paper. No need for a floured work table and floor getting dusted. To prevent slippage, I held the ends of the paper down with one palm and rolled a wooden rolling pin down the length of the paper. After a few attempts, the dough softened and I got the knack of it. I kept the paper on the bottom to transfer it and flip it onto the other rolled dough. Easy, neat and hygienic. Rolling was sushi-style. I used the cutaway edges to briefly mix the 2 doughs together, into a ball then partially flatten. This made a marblized design. I will be making these, again, for Easter, using pastel colors and different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States