Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good recipe but if you want to make them extra yummy, add crushed candy canes and peppermint extract to the sugar cookie half and finely chopped chocolate to the chocolate half. This will intensify the chocolate flavor and add an extra peppermint spin to this already fabulous cookie!! You don't want big chunks of peppermint or chocolate because it will make your job more difficult when slicing the log of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
An interesting adventure for a bored baker. I had fun with these cookies but they are time consuming. In the end, they turned out perfectly. Very delicious; soft, chewy and tasty. I made a few changes but kind of charted my own course. I added 3 tbsp of hot chocolate powder with the melted chocolate to the chocolate dough. I also used butter and let them chill for a few hours. It made them just sweet enough. I got about 50 cookies, though some fairly small. I'll tuck this one away for a rainy day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I will not use this recipe again. The dough is way too soft and a nightmare to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My BF remembers these cookies from his childhood, so we tried this recipe. We've made them a few times now and have implemented a couple changes. As written, they aren't sweet enough, we increase the sugar to 3/4c; also use butter instead of shortening. The result is exactly what he wanted. Yes, time consuming and a bit of work, but worth it. Make sure you chill the dough properly or it will be too soft to work with: I chill dough balls for 1.5 hrs, roll them out using wax paper on top and bottom, then place choc layer on top of white, make the jelly-roll, and then chill the roll wrapped in wax paper for 3 hrs. Unwrap and the cold dough slices perfectly with a sharp knife. Double or triple the recipe and freeze the extra cookies so you don't have to go through the work every time you want these, thats what we do. Works great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Requires patience. They are in the oven now and look just like the picture. I used a rolling mat to roll out the best rectangle I could. Then I flipped it onto a 8x13 pan. I did the same with the second ball of dough and flipped it onto the other. I trimmed the edges square and rolled it up longways in the pan. I did double the recipe and ended up with 45 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great cookies. I followed the advice of others and used a whole egg, ommitted the milk and used 3 tbsp of cocoa instead. I didn't chill the dough before rolling, which made it easier to work with. I did chill it after I rolled them though. They turned out great!! I got 4 dozen cookies out of one roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Good Base recipe. Kind of a crunchy, creamy cookie. Try it with other things in or instead of the middle layer. Nuts, coconut, jelly or jams. I would prefer it a little less crispy/dry so would have to play with that another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Pinwheel my backside! These were a nightmare. The dough was impossible to work with! I used a ton of powdered sugar to roll it out, it still stuck everywhere, and thank Goodness I used sugar and not flour to roll it! The chocolate dough was bitter and the vanilla dough was bland. The ONLY reason I'm giving this three stars is because my 1 year old can't get enough of these cookies. Everybody over 1 thinks they stink. I ended up globbing together the two doughs and rolling 'em into tie-dye balls, which my 6 year old thought looked awesome, till he tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been trying to make chocolate pinwheel cookies successfully for years with no avail. I came across this last Christmas, tried it and couldn't believe how beutiful the cookies came out. they where so easy to make, ketpt there shape, easy to roll,cut and tasted good. I hope this year I have the same luck. I will let you know. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
They turned out really really dry. Actually that's an understatement... They were rock colid. It was probably just something I did wrong though. 3 stars cause it's probably my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States