Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really enjoyed the texture and flavor of this pie. I would imagine it would taste floury if the flour was not cooked long enough as indicated. I made the following adjustments due to other comments- added 1/3 cup milk, added 1/4 cup sugar, and decreased vanilla to 1/2 tsp. I also incorporated the egg yolks and margarine into the milk before adding to the cocoa mixture. I was able to cook the entire 7 minutes without problems. Thanks for a fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopefloats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This pie is ok. But there were a couple of problems. First of all, it does not take 7 minutes in the microwave. About halfway thru the 4th minute, I stopped the microwave because the mix was getting way too thick. It had already thickened beyond pie texture. After I added the eggs, vanilla, and butter, the texture was better. But the second problem was with the flavor. It was very chocolatey, but tasted dense. Like maybe too floury. I would make this pie in a pinch, but it's nowhere near my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I've made chocolate pies for years, and this rates right up there with the fair-winning ones! The taste is wonderful, and it's about the easiest pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Amazing! Can't believe it was made in the microwave. I used gourmet organic cocoa powder and it made the pie dark and rich. It was not very stiff, the filling came out a bit gloopy, but personally I like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by af_eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Been making chocolate pie since I was a little girl.This one reminds me of my mom and grandma.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is so easy and very good tasting! Homemade chocolate pie in minutes! Also, all the ingredients are usually in the cupboard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this with 2 tsp. of Vanilla and on the stovetop. It only took about 5 min. at med. heat to thicken. Poured it into into a chocolate graham cracker crust. Not bad.. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
So great! Tastes almost like proper chocolate pie but takes so much less time. I ran out of white sugar and used about half brown and it was still great. Also, I beat the eggs in with the milk before cooking so I wouldn't have to worry about raw eggs and it worked very well. As other reviewers suggested, I upped the sugar to a cup. Also, this doesn't fill a deep pie crust. You need to double the recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This pie was great. I combined the egg yolks,vanilla and butter together before mixing with the coco mixture. As it turned out the filling was more of a carmel taste and consistensey,which was very good, I also think the 7 minutes is a bit long. I stopped at 6 mins. and it actually could have been less than that. P.S. Where are the couple of reviewers getting the peanut butter from ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Thanks for such an easy chocolate pie recipe. I loved this, made it with a walnut crust and topped with whipped cream. INCREDIBLE! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States