Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really enjoyed the texture and flavor of this pie. I would imagine it would taste floury if the flour was not cooked long enough as indicated. I made the following adjustments due to other comments- added 1/3 cup milk, added 1/4 cup sugar, and decreased vanilla to 1/2 tsp. I also incorporated the egg yolks and margarine into the milk before adding to the cocoa mixture. I was able to cook the entire 7 minutes without problems. Thanks for a fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopefloats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This pie is ok. But there were a couple of problems. First of all, it does not take 7 minutes in the microwave. About halfway thru the 4th minute, I stopped the microwave because the mix was getting way too thick. It had already thickened beyond pie texture. After I added the eggs, vanilla, and butter, the texture was better. But the second problem was with the flavor. It was very chocolatey, but tasted dense. Like maybe too floury. I would make this pie in a pinch, but it's nowhere near my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I've made chocolate pies for years, and this rates right up there with the fair-winning ones! The taste is wonderful, and it's about the easiest pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Amazing! Can't believe it was made in the microwave. I used gourmet organic cocoa powder and it made the pie dark and rich. It was not very stiff, the filling came out a bit gloopy, but personally I like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by af_eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Been making chocolate pie since I was a little girl.This one reminds me of my mom and grandma.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is so easy and very good tasting! Homemade chocolate pie in minutes! Also, all the ingredients are usually in the cupboard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this with 2 tsp. of Vanilla and on the stovetop. It only took about 5 min. at med. heat to thicken. Poured it into into a chocolate graham cracker crust. Not bad.. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
So great! Tastes almost like proper chocolate pie but takes so much less time. I ran out of white sugar and used about half brown and it was still great. Also, I beat the eggs in with the milk before cooking so I wouldn't have to worry about raw eggs and it worked very well. As other reviewers suggested, I upped the sugar to a cup. Also, this doesn't fill a deep pie crust. You need to double the recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This pie was great. I combined the egg yolks,vanilla and butter together before mixing with the coco mixture. As it turned out the filling was more of a carmel taste and consistensey,which was very good, I also think the 7 minutes is a bit long. I stopped at 6 mins. and it actually could have been less than that. P.S. Where are the couple of reviewers getting the peanut butter from ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Thanks for such an easy chocolate pie recipe. I loved this, made it with a walnut crust and topped with whipped cream. INCREDIBLE! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States