Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really enjoyed the texture and flavor of this pie. I would imagine it would taste floury if the flour was not cooked long enough as indicated. I made the following adjustments due to other comments- added 1/3 cup milk, added 1/4 cup sugar, and decreased vanilla to 1/2 tsp. I also incorporated the egg yolks and margarine into the milk before adding to the cocoa mixture. I was able to cook the entire 7 minutes without problems. Thanks for a fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopefloats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I tried this recipe because I had all the ingredients in the house. It was ok, but not my favorite chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This pie was great. I combined the egg yolks,vanilla and butter together before mixing with the coco mixture. As it turned out the filling was more of a carmel taste and consistensey,which was very good, I also think the 7 minutes is a bit long. I stopped at 6 mins. and it actually could have been less than that. P.S. Where are the couple of reviewers getting the peanut butter from ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Really, really good!!!! I think it actually needs a little bit more milk, but besides that its really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
First pie I've ever made, and I think it is going to best one i will ever make. Awesome pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is so easy and very good tasting! Homemade chocolate pie in minutes! Also, all the ingredients are usually in the cupboard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Amazing! Can't believe it was made in the microwave. I used gourmet organic cocoa powder and it made the pie dark and rich. It was not very stiff, the filling came out a bit gloopy, but personally I like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by af_eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This didn't turn out well for me. I cooked it in the microwave 3 one-minute increments; then I started using 50% power, as it was getting very thick, and I was afraid it would clump. I cooked it 2 more one-minute increments. The filling was runny and the taste was just okay. It has more of a chocolate, cocoa flavor, than sweet. I think I may increase the sugar by one-half, and cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This pie is ok. But there were a couple of problems. First of all, it does not take 7 minutes in the microwave. About halfway thru the 4th minute, I stopped the microwave because the mix was getting way too thick. It had already thickened beyond pie texture. After I added the eggs, vanilla, and butter, the texture was better. But the second problem was with the flavor. It was very chocolatey, but tasted dense. Like maybe too floury. I would make this pie in a pinch, but it's nowhere near my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Thanks for such an easy chocolate pie recipe. I loved this, made it with a walnut crust and topped with whipped cream. INCREDIBLE! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States