Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe is wonderful. Like other reviewers said, if you mix all the wet and dry ingredients together before you microwave the filling, you don't have to worry about raw eggs. It works great. Combine the dry and wet ingredients separately and then mix them together. Also, I used an extra 1/3 cup of milk, only 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and one full cup of sugar. Seven minutes in the microwave, stirring occasionally. I made a graham cracker crust to go with it. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I tried it not near enough mixture to fill a 9" pie crust, and tasted rather bitter to much chocolate for my taste, seemed to thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Easiest Chocolate pie I've ever made. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This pie was pretty tasty, but I also did not have to cook it in 7 minutes. After 3 and half minutes, the cocoa mixture turned extremely thick. So I took it out and followed the rest of the instructions, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Been making chocolate pie since I was a little girl.This one reminds me of my mom and grandma.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I increased sugar to 1 1/3 Cups sugar, and mixed egg yolks in milk beofre adding to dry mixture as someone else has suggested. Was very good, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is my recipe but with a few changes. I use 3T cornstarch instead of flour and add the eggs with the rest of the mixture as it cooks and then add the vanilla and butter after it has thickened. The time is about right - I just go by how it looks and stir after every two minutes. I've done it in the microwave and stovetop and it's great either way. I usually use Dream Whip, Cool Whip or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this with 2 tsp. of Vanilla and on the stovetop. It only took about 5 min. at med. heat to thicken. Poured it into into a chocolate graham cracker crust. Not bad.. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We could not eat this pie because of the strong taste of vanilla extract. I would recommend cutting the amount down to 1 teaspoonful NOT 1 tablespoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I cooked this up on the stove, and added 1/2 cup peanut butter to the pudding. This became a Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie. Then, I figured I had to use up the egg whites so I made a meringue to top the pie. Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States