Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very tasty, I will decrease sugar in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leona Frank Milton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very good flavor! Rich chocolate just the way I like it! Simple recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Perfect, just like my Granny's! As suggested, I doubled the recipe for a deep dish, but I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My grandma used to make this EXACT pie when I was younger. She passed away and no one ever got the recipe. I have made COUNTLESS chocolate pies trying to find "her" recipe =) This taste just like my childhood. Thank you SOOOOO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Reduced sugar...otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is just the pie I was looking for. I've made almost this exact pie a few times in the past... simple ingredients and down-home flavor!! I did cut down on the sugar as per other reviews, but other than that no problems. Tips - For the custard, make extra sure that the yolk/flour/sugar mixture is mixed WELL and cook on med heat while stirring CONTINUOUSLY. If the heat is too low it will take forever and if it's too high it will burn. For the meringue, make sure you get NO YOLK in it, if there is even the smallest amount it will not form. By adding sugar to it, it does take longer to form than without, but the sugar is important for the flavour. Be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
excellent! man it took a LONG time for the custard to set up, but once it did, it was awesome. i chilled my egg whites, mixing bowl, and whisk attachment in the refrigerator before beating them for the meringue and it went much faster for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Always a hit at my house. Adding a pinch of salt balances the sweetness, and I like the suggestion to add some chocolate chips, but it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is the pie recipe I have been looking for. I recommend making either two recipes or one and a half b/c it doesn't make alot. I add 2 TBLS of butter to the filling when it is still hot at the end. Makes it glossier. It is the perfect filling for Martha Stewart's pate brisee crust filling. My husband and my kids went crazy for it. Will definitely make again. To the critics who complain it was runny, you need to up the heat and wait until it gets pretty thick. Don't let it overcook too much or it will get grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I've never made anything like this before so I was really nervous. Unfortunately we weren't able to eat the end result. The filling was so runny! I wish I had read further down in the reviews about it taking about 30 minutes to thicken. I was so afraid of cooking it too long and having it burn so I'm sure I didn't cook it long enough. I also had to double the recipe for the meringue, which was the only part that turned out right. I let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours hoping it would set and it never did. I may try adding corn starch to the chocolate also as some one else suggested. I wouldn't recommend this for a first timer, but I will try it again when I'm not under holiday pressure! ***I tried this again on 7/11/10 with no time constraints. I also used the "Double Boil" method. After an hour and a half of stirring I decided to add corn starch. 2 tablespoons later it was no thicker. Then I decided to add Gelatin to it. Nothing. I don't know what I'm missing but I can't get this right! The meringue however was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami  Herrmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States