Chocolate Peppermint Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
A new favorite in our house. I couldn't stop eating these so thank goodness they are low fat. Chocolate and Mint is a classic combination and was perfect for this cookie. Easy to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I was a bit nervous since this is the first time I've ever made a meringue cookie but these are awesome! Even better a few days later-they get really chewy. My taste-testers enjoyed them too. Made as recipe states but used milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Sorry I could not get this to work!! My meringue drops kept getting all brown after 10 min in the oven at 300.... Boo :( Thankfully I made back ups for my cookie exchange in 2 days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made meringue cookies before, but thought I'd try this one for the holidays. I could not get the meringue to peak at all. Use a DIFFERENT recipe for the meringue!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I'm sorry :( I tried but could not get this to work no matter what- even after adding salt in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made these for the holidays. I used white chocolate chunks and with the peppermint, they were truly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
these look great but after three tries I was still unable to get the meringue to stiff peaks. I have never had any issue making meringue before. I would advise to try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I think this recipe needs some additional instructions and a little tweaking in order to make it work. Always use a glass or metal mixing bowl, never plastic, and make sure it's very clean. Also, make sure you start with egg whites that are room temperature, never right out of the fridge. If you get even a small amount of egg yolk in with the whites they will not form stiff peaks so be very careful when you're separating your eggs. You should not add the peppermint extract at the beginning since the oil will not allow the egg whites to stiffen properly. Add the extract AFTER your egg whites are stiff and only mix for a short time to allow the peppermint oil to distribute. Finally, the oven temp is way too high for meringues. It should be set much lower, maybe 200 degrees, and baked for about 90 minutes. Don't open the door and allow the meringues to cool in the warm oven. Meringues should never be brown and if they are then the oven temp is too high. Meringues should be dry all the way through, never chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
this was great however the cookies had hollowed out - I don't know if that's the way they are (I've never made a meringue cookie before) but other than that they were great - didn't have any food coloring, mini choc chips or candy canes around so I added mini m&m's that I had and they made some pretty cool colored streaks in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States