Chocolate Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
AMAZING!!!!! Just amazing! I love this stuff and will definently make it again! P.S.LET THEM COOL DOWN 100% THEN HAVE A DAMP CLOTH (SQUEEZE & DRAIN THE CLOTH AS MUCH AS YOU CAN) AND ROLL EACH SANDI ON IT ,THEN IN POWDERED SUGAR ...IT PICKS UP MORE POWDERED SUGAR THAT WAY .. I will absolutley make these on every holiday !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I've made these a few times and love it! Very nutty and just enough chocolate goodness. Sandies are typically a drier cookie than most, so if you are expecting a moist chewy cookie, this recipe is not for you. I follow the ingredients exactly but make the portions smaller because they tend to crumble apart. I find that chilling the mixture for a few minutes and squeezing them tight when forming into balls prevents crumbling. Also, I don't bother with the powdered sugar. It is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iloverawfish
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This cookie is very easy to make. I did not change the recipe at all and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
So I changed the recipe just a bit- I omitted pecans and substituted about a cup of mini chocolate chips. I also added a little more cocoa powder than called for; I like the rich flavor that cocoa powder offers. They baked for 25 minutes perfectly. I let them cool for 20-30 minutes before placing them in a gallon size Ziplock bag to coat them with powdered sugar. All in all a really nice Christmas cookie that I will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used ground almonds as I did not have pecans on hand. The cookies were gone much too quickly. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! Perfect change from making regular pecan sandies. One of the first cookies to go around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkerdickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these today and they turned out great! This is a keeper, I followed the recipe as written. I thought the dough was a bit loose so I chilled for an hour before forming my balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were a nice change. This was one of 9 recipes that we baked this holiday. They held up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter. These were good, but almost too crumbly. They fall apart as soon as they're bitten, but at least they taste good as they crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were pretty good. I was concerned with the little amount of sugar at first, but when measuring I didn't completely level it, so it added a little extra to my recipe. I thought they were going to be more like a chocolate pecan sandie cookie. But, they tasted just like a "chocolate version of a snowball cookie." I used a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop and put the cookies on parchment instead of a sprayed pan. I got 32 baked cookies from the recipe. When cool I did coat them with the powdered sugar, but it took about twice as much as instructed. Thanks again, MARBALET for another simple to follow and good recipe. As they remind me of snowballs, I may make these as a Christmas cookie this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States