Chocolate Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
We loved this recipe. I made this one and a regular pecan pie for Thanksgiving. While both were great...us chocoholics fought over this one! It has the perfect amount of chocolate for us, it didn't outshine the fact that it was a pecan pie, but you could definitely taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Growing up I only had pecan pie a few times and I never really liked it but for some reason I really wanted to make a pecan pie this Thanksgiving. So began my search for a pecan pie recipe that in theory sounded appealing. I came across this recipes and thought to myself hmmmm I like pecans and I love chocolate so how could this not be good. And let me tell you I was not disappointed. It came out perfect and it was so delicious!!!! Thanks for the great recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Great! I made it for Thanksgiving and it got many compliments. Serve with real whip cream and it is wonderful. The only thing I will say is to either make in a torte pan or be sure to keep the sides of of your crust low because it doesn't rise a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was yummy! I was looking for a chocolate pecan pie that contained no flour for my gluten intolerant mother-in-law. I made it with a gluten free crust. It was so easy to make! I did run into a few binds. First I found out we were out of butter, so I substituted 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce for that. Then I discovered we only had one egg left, so I used that, then shook together 2 tablespoons cornstarch with 6 tablespoons water in a tightly covered container for the rest. I used splenda instead of sugar because I'm calorie conscious. I also used semisweet chocolate because it's what I had. It was a little bit runny, but not bad and very tasty. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was good, but not fantastic. The only thing I changed was using semi-sweet chocolate, everything else was the same. My opinion could also be skewed because I love regular pecan pie so much - probably shouldn't have messed with a good thing. Also, my cooking time took an extra 20-25 minutes - might be my British oven, but it seems to cook everything else alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a great tasting dessert. Be aware that it is not super sweet like most pecan pies, and that it is more like a European style dessert. Also, I found that the filling didn't fill the dish as much as I would have liked, so you might want to do 1 1/2 recipes or something to make more filling. The filling for me baked into a nice layer-look with the pecans and chocolate toward the top and the syrupy-gel layer under that. Altogether a wonderful dessert, that suited us well since we like less sweet desserts. It felt like something from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! It is the one thing that I don't have any leftovers of from our Thanksgiving meal! Everyone raved about it and I felt great because I knew how simple this recipe really was. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Fantastic taste!! But I tried twice and I could not get the pie to set...I don't know where I went wrong. I want to try again since the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have been looking for an alternative to the super sweet gooey pecan pie that we all grew up with. This is it. I had so many raves that everyone asked if I had more. There are more out on this web site with milk chocolate and semi sweet but this with unsweetened is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Quick tip: Use an aluminum pie shield or aluminum foil to cover the top during 1/2 the baking time. This chocolate pecan pie is FABULOUS!! You gotta try it. It is great right out of the oven, but tastes even better the second day. It really hits the spot when you have to have something sweet & rich. Would give it 10 stars if I could! I chopped the pecans up a little instead of using halves. Also, I only had bittersweet chocolate (recipe calls for unsweetened) but it worked out jolly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States