Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I was really excited about this but it didn't seem to have the right consistency. It might have been my fault, though. I'm not the best with pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
yummmyyyyy! I used chopped pecans because it is easier to cut through... no other changes. But beware if you are looking for a jelly filled middle, like your used to with pecan pie, this ain't it. It's somewhere between that a brownie like substance. My husband gripped about that but I loved it! I'm very untraditional/ traditional.... If that make any sence ...he's just traditional. My 3 boys killed it in under an hour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I’ve made this pie for various Thanksgivings and holiday parties and it is always a huge hit. I make a few small adjustments. I use butter rather than margarine and I add about 2-3 oz of chopped dark chocolate into the sugar, cocoa, corn syrup mix right before adding the eggs. I also add about 3 TBSP of good bourbon into the mix right before adding the pecans. I put a full cup of chopped pecans into the pie. A few other suggestions: Use the best chocolate and cocoa powder you can get your hands on. I switched to Valrhona cocoa powder a while back and it makes all the difference in the world for recipes using cocoa powder. Temper the eggs before adding them. Quickly whisk a little of the hot chocolate/syrup mix into the eggs first then add the eggs to the remainder of your mix. Just dumping in the eggs will give you little bits of scrambled egg in your pie. This pie, especially if you add the bourbon, is best made a day ahead of time so the flavors have time to meld. I really prefer this recipe using cocoa powder to those calling for chocolate chips. The flavor is so much richer with the cocoa powder! A staple in my holiday cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
delicious!!! i cooked it for a few minutes longer, and the pie turned out great! my boyfriend said it was the best birthday dessert he's ever had :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This pie was absolutely scrumptious! Fudgy as described, and believe it or not, not too sweet! I used a graham cracker crust which, along with the pecans; gave a crunch texture that complimented the smooth filling perfectly. Yayyyy!!! and thanks to submitter, a holiday tradition for my family from now on! (NOTE: I agree with the reviewer who suggested cooling filling down before adding eggs!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Quincy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Oh yeah, this definitely hit the spot, Ruth. Thanks for sharing this, we all enjoyed it very much. I'm making it again for our Thanksgiving dessert but we're going to use walnuts instead (I used up all my pecans!). UPDATE: Walnuts don't work well with this recipe, my mistake. They're too heavy and the textures don't compliment one another. Stick with pecans, and if you're out - wait until you can buy more. This recipe is awesome as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this pie for my father's birthday. It was my first attempt at a pie, and this recipe was the winner because it was so simple. The results were amazing! I have to say not only was it a great first try, but it was probably the best pie I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
it was the first time making a pecan pie and I loved it and so did my hubby:) btw my hubby is a big pecan pie fan. the only thing I did different is add more pecan cuz the hubby told me too but it overflowed so maybe next time we wont put as much in and on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I loved this. I love chocolate though. My parents didn't care for it. I made it for Thanksgiving. They'd prefer traditional. Make it for people who like different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious!! Perfect balance of pecans and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States