Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a winner! Made this for Thanksgiving and did an encore for Christmas. My wife loved it and so did the kids. The same kids who all looked at pecan pie and said, "whatever" and then thought it was the greatest pie they'd ever eaten once they bit into it. I had another choc pecan at the in-laws over Christmas and it wasn't nearly as good as this. I think using the Hershey's cocoa powder was the difference. It's just high quality chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love pecan pie and I love chocolate so I thought this would be the best dessert ever. However, I found I didn't care for it as much as plain pecan pie. My brother-in-law who counts on me bringing pecan pie to all the holdays, agreed. The filling is reminicent of raw brownie batter. The taste is rich and fairly good, but the texture is not quite right, a bit grainy. It was fun to try but I think I'll stick with plain pecan pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is very delicious! I took some others' advice and made the following changes: used 3 eggs and 1/2 c. half & half, I ran out of cocoa powder and used only about an 1/8th c of cocoa powder and 2 oz of semi sweet baking squares. I had enough to make a pie and 12 mini tartlets using cupcake liners in a cupcake pan. The mini tarts are great to take to work/bake sale, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was the first pecan pie I have made and even my family that thinks pecan pie is too sweet loved this recipe. My mom has asked for the recipe for her upcoming Christmas party. I will be making this pecan pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
HUGE hit at Thanksgiving! Will be making it just about every holiday from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Mmmmm! I made this for Thanksgiving dinner this year and it turned out absolutely wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and it was great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect combination of pecans and chocolate. Very rich, very decadent, very good! The gooeyness of a brownie the butteriness of pecan pie (I use real butter NOT margarine)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This pie is AMAZING. Only alteration is to add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the stove top ingredients - have made it several times for family and all agree that it really results in a richer chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswright1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is so good! You need to serve it with whipped topping because it's so rich. My favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States