Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My southern family loved this pie. It was Fudgey and RICH... One change was to not use all white sugar. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I'm told it's a new tradition....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cclampkin
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It is good. About what I expected for a chocolate pecan pie.... I am a chocoholic, though, and would like it even more chocolaty..... next time I may add chocolate chips as well :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the best tasting chocolate pecan pie recipe I have made. I would suggest whisking the sugar/cocoa/butter mixture over medium/low heat until it reaches close to a boil. This thickens the mixture so it is not so soupy. Then temper your eggs by adding a little of the mixture to the beaten eggs until you feel comfortable that the eggs aren't going to "cook" when you pour them into the mixture. Be sure to let the mixture cool a bit also. I added 2 cups of chopped pecans and made two regular pies (used store bought pie crusts) with this. I'll definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
really YUMMY! I could not find my cocoa in the pantry so I used 2 1oz cubes of unsweetened chocolate and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This pie always gets rave reviews at my family gatherings. If you like pecan pie and chocolate, try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this pie the other day and let it sit in the fridge overnight and it was HUGE success! I normally don't care for regular pecan pie because it's just too rich and sweet for me. The cocoa helps cut that a bit and it just melts in your mouth. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a winner! Made this for Thanksgiving and did an encore for Christmas. My wife loved it and so did the kids. The same kids who all looked at pecan pie and said, "whatever" and then thought it was the greatest pie they'd ever eaten once they bit into it. I had another choc pecan at the in-laws over Christmas and it wasn't nearly as good as this. I think using the Hershey's cocoa powder was the difference. It's just high quality chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love pecan pie and I love chocolate so I thought this would be the best dessert ever. However, I found I didn't care for it as much as plain pecan pie. My brother-in-law who counts on me bringing pecan pie to all the holdays, agreed. The filling is reminicent of raw brownie batter. The taste is rich and fairly good, but the texture is not quite right, a bit grainy. It was fun to try but I think I'll stick with plain pecan pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is very delicious! I took some others' advice and made the following changes: used 3 eggs and 1/2 c. half & half, I ran out of cocoa powder and used only about an 1/8th c of cocoa powder and 2 oz of semi sweet baking squares. I had enough to make a pie and 12 mini tartlets using cupcake liners in a cupcake pan. The mini tarts are great to take to work/bake sale, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States