Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
If I could, I would give this recipe 9.5 million stars. It was that good. The one thing that I will try to fix next time, although I'm not sure how, is that when I added the eggs to the hot mixture, they cooked! I strained it and got most out, but next time (which is now, actually) I'll let it cool a bit first. One extra thing I did was when I added the pecans on the top, I also sprinkled with chocolate chips (because it wasn't chocolately enough :-) ) and it was just BEAUTIFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is one of the best pecan pie recipes out there! I followed it to a tee and it turned out just wonderfully! This was our Thanksgiving pie along with a pumpkin and there were no leftovers of this pie. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank you for sharing it Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My new favorite chocolate pecan pie recipe!! WE LOVED THIS PIE! My only regret is that I didn't make two. One just wasn't enough for my family of five. I agree with others, allow this pie to cool and set to truly enjoy its greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsprecious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My southern family loved this pie. It was Fudgey and RICH... One change was to not use all white sugar. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I'm told it's a new tradition....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cclampkin
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It is good. About what I expected for a chocolate pecan pie.... I am a chocoholic, though, and would like it even more chocolaty..... next time I may add chocolate chips as well :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the best tasting chocolate pecan pie recipe I have made. I would suggest whisking the sugar/cocoa/butter mixture over medium/low heat until it reaches close to a boil. This thickens the mixture so it is not so soupy. Then temper your eggs by adding a little of the mixture to the beaten eggs until you feel comfortable that the eggs aren't going to "cook" when you pour them into the mixture. Be sure to let the mixture cool a bit also. I added 2 cups of chopped pecans and made two regular pies (used store bought pie crusts) with this. I'll definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
really YUMMY! I could not find my cocoa in the pantry so I used 2 1oz cubes of unsweetened chocolate and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This pie always gets rave reviews at my family gatherings. If you like pecan pie and chocolate, try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this pie the other day and let it sit in the fridge overnight and it was HUGE success! I normally don't care for regular pecan pie because it's just too rich and sweet for me. The cocoa helps cut that a bit and it just melts in your mouth. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States