Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is phenomenal! I have already made this three times and anticipate making it many more. I got rave reviews on "my" pecan pie at the pot luck. This is worth every calorie! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Angie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is a really great recipe! Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I made this for my family and in-laws for Thanksgiving, and we were almost licking the plate. However, this only gets four stars because the crust underneath the pie was very soggy. I used a frozen Pillsbury crust; next time I may bake the crust first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving. We were so curious we dug into it the night before and even the nut-haters in my family loved it! It was gone by Friday, so I made another this week. Everyone I served this to loved it. Only change was I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. This is an excellent pie that I will be making many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
If I could, I would give this recipe 9.5 million stars. It was that good. The one thing that I will try to fix next time, although I'm not sure how, is that when I added the eggs to the hot mixture, they cooked! I strained it and got most out, but next time (which is now, actually) I'll let it cool a bit first. One extra thing I did was when I added the pecans on the top, I also sprinkled with chocolate chips (because it wasn't chocolately enough :-) ) and it was just BEAUTIFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is one of the best pecan pie recipes out there! I followed it to a tee and it turned out just wonderfully! This was our Thanksgiving pie along with a pumpkin and there were no leftovers of this pie. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank you for sharing it Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My new favorite chocolate pecan pie recipe!! WE LOVED THIS PIE! My only regret is that I didn't make two. One just wasn't enough for my family of five. I agree with others, allow this pie to cool and set to truly enjoy its greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsprecious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My southern family loved this pie. It was Fudgey and RICH... One change was to not use all white sugar. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I'm told it's a new tradition....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cclampkin
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It is good. About what I expected for a chocolate pecan pie.... I am a chocoholic, though, and would like it even more chocolaty..... next time I may add chocolate chips as well :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the best tasting chocolate pecan pie recipe I have made. I would suggest whisking the sugar/cocoa/butter mixture over medium/low heat until it reaches close to a boil. This thickens the mixture so it is not so soupy. Then temper your eggs by adding a little of the mixture to the beaten eggs until you feel comfortable that the eggs aren't going to "cook" when you pour them into the mixture. Be sure to let the mixture cool a bit also. I added 2 cups of chopped pecans and made two regular pies (used store bought pie crusts) with this. I'll definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States