Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Everyone loved this pie, it was very rich and delicious. I did have a little trouble tempering the eggs (I had never done that before) and had to spoon out a little bit of cooked egg, but it still turned out looking great! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Awesome! I made 15 mini pies instead of one whole pie, so reduced bake time to 45 minutes. Great, Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is the first pecan pie I have made, and I found it very straightforward. I used the "Pastry for Double Pie Crust" recipe on this site (only using 1/2 the dough) for the crust, adding a Tbsp of brown sugar to the crust. I was also worried about the eggs scrambling when added to the mixture, so I beat the eggs in a separate bowl and added the sugar mixture slowly to the eggs instead of the other way around. It turned out very creamy and delicious. I had to bake it for about 10 extra minutes to help firm up the center. I will be saving this one for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I usually like the ooey gooey chocolate pecan pie w/ chocolate chips, but this converted me! The flavor is unbelievable and still rich and yummy to satisfy the chocoholic in you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
A rich, chocolately, crunchy concoction! If you like to eat a lot, it's impossible with this pie.... each bite is scrumptious! I initially split the pie into 6 pieces, however, my friends and I could only eat half of our pieces, so I re-sliced into (what would have been 12 slices) halves. It's very, very rich, and very good. A+ Thanks for the recipe! -- I made this again, only using 3 eggs (as thats all I had), and 1/3 cup of half-n-half with everything else, and the filling was much tastier as well as being a lot more 'creamy'. I recommend using only 3 eggs and in place, use 1/3 cup of half-n-half of the other egg. It makes the filling much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Deeeelicious...not too sweet and just the perfect chocolate consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
wow, amazing. Just had to add an extra tablespoon of cocoa (I like it rich) and 3/4 cup of sugar so it wouldn't be too sweet. This is one of the best desserts I have ever made and it was gone in 5 minutes. Great, solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This pie is so good. Did not last long in my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My husband LOVED this pie. He is a HUGE pecan pie lover, and he said this was the best pie he ever had! Thank you so much for this EASY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is fabulous! I used a deep dish 9" pan and no overflow, puffed up really high and sank down when cooled like it should. Really fudgy and delicious, I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar to make it fudgier and 2 tsps of vanilla with a dash of cinnamon, great with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States