Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I wasn't sure what to expect with this pie the reviews all over the place. I read about "hot fudge filling" and runny centers, to just a hint of chocolate. Make no mistake this is a simple pecan pie with extra layer of flavor. My pie turn out with that perfect pecan pie consistency, a little gooey with the gelatinousness filling studded with nuts. In other words it was not runny or "fudgey" in the least. However like others I used a deep dish pie plate, so I increased the cooking time by about 15-20 minutes- I waited for the center of the pie to rise like the edges before I removed it from the oven. As for the taste, brother could not quite figure out what that extra layer of flavor was- was it coffee? What is that? I told him it was a chocolate pecan pie, and he ahhh yeah, that's it. Anyway, it is delicious and it was well appreciated at Thanksgiving. I made this night before and is a five star recipe- but only after a day or so in the fridge. Therefore I highly recommend making this pie at least a day or two ahead of time and letting it sit in the chill box for a while. It seems this pie only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I waited about 15 - 20 minutes before adding the eggs to the cocoa mixture so I wouldn't get the scrambled eggs effect. Wonderful pie. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My husband is the chocolate pecan lover and he said this was great. It's very sweet and rich. I'm the regular pecan pie lover and I missed the regular filling. It could have had more filling and a few less chocolate chips. But it will stay on our list for best pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Outstanding recipe! Great twist to the typical pecan pie. I brought this pie to an auction at my church and everyone went crazy over it. I did add extra pecans to the reicpe, probably 1 cup to the pie itself, and put a cup of chopped pecans on top. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Excellent! This is the first pie I ever made so I was a little nervous how it would turn out, but everyone loved it. I made one for work and one for Thanksgiving and several asked for the recipie! The only down side is you have to cook longer than stated (mine was a lot longer) But overal, great & will make again for many years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This didn't do it for us. I guess we just like standard pecan pie. None of liked the filling very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
There was just WAY too much corn syrup in this. After cooling for several hours the result was an oily, gooey mess. The pecans did taste good, but I would consider reducing the amount of corn syrup. That stuff is so bad for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I followed this recipe to the letter with great results.. after reading other reviews I was careful adding the egg... I let the coco mixture cool a bit and added the first 1/2 cup of pecans to the coco before adding the egg. No problems with the eggs cooking in the hot liquid. Also let it cool completely and then placed in the fridge overnight before serving. Came out perfect, enjoyed by everyone. Many thanks to chef Ruth,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I will never eat regular pecan pie again! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States