Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delicious and sinfuly decadent! This pie was a little slice of heaven. Chocolate is the perfect addition to pecan pie. It was rich and chocolaty but not too sweet. Perfect! I will be making this pie on holidays from now on! I did add an additional 2T of cocoa as I love chocolate, and it tasted perfect to me. Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Wholly pecan pie! This has become a frequent request from my husband. When I make it he refuses to share so I have to make sure to make another pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was really good. I read the reviews and added additional pecans and reduced the corn syrup to 3/4 cups since several reviews said it was running. It was very good this way but I think next time I'll add the full cup of corn syrup along with the extra pecans. should be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe. It was so easy to make and the compliments kept coming. I used 1 cup chopped pecans in the pie and used 1/2 c whole pecans for the topping. Make sure this pie is refrigerated for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it recieved rave reviews! The only thing I will do different, is cook it just a little longer next time. The center was less firm than I would have liked... otherwise, an amazing pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Delicious - my 8 year old loved it and he is super picky. I did almost lose it to oven overflow though - even in a deep dish. For my oven, I think I may lower to 325 and bake longer. Must let sit in fridge overnight. Excellent w/some vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I wasn't sure what to expect with this pie the reviews all over the place. I read about "hot fudge filling" and runny centers, to just a hint of chocolate. Make no mistake this is a simple pecan pie with extra layer of flavor. My pie turn out with that perfect pecan pie consistency, a little gooey with the gelatinousness filling studded with nuts. In other words it was not runny or "fudgey" in the least. However like others I used a deep dish pie plate, so I increased the cooking time by about 15-20 minutes- I waited for the center of the pie to rise like the edges before I removed it from the oven. As for the taste, brother could not quite figure out what that extra layer of flavor was- was it coffee? What is that? I told him it was a chocolate pecan pie, and he ahhh yeah, that's it. Anyway, it is delicious and it was well appreciated at Thanksgiving. I made this night before and is a five star recipe- but only after a day or so in the fridge. Therefore I highly recommend making this pie at least a day or two ahead of time and letting it sit in the chill box for a while. It seems this pie only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I waited about 15 - 20 minutes before adding the eggs to the cocoa mixture so I wouldn't get the scrambled eggs effect. Wonderful pie. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My husband is the chocolate pecan lover and he said this was great. It's very sweet and rich. I'm the regular pecan pie lover and I missed the regular filling. It could have had more filling and a few less chocolate chips. But it will stay on our list for best pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Outstanding recipe! Great twist to the typical pecan pie. I brought this pie to an auction at my church and everyone went crazy over it. I did add extra pecans to the reicpe, probably 1 cup to the pie itself, and put a cup of chopped pecans on top. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States