Chocolate Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This never firmed up in the center, I beat the eggs until they were very very thick and followed the directions completely. The saving grace of this pie was the crust I made up( the reason I wanted to make a chocolate pie). The top layer just feel a part as soon as you stuck a knife in it to cut it. Didn't bake through and the end results was less then pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was SUPER sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The flavor was really good inside. I had a little bit of a hard top "shell" that formed during baking, so it was annoying to cut through, but everyone really like it. I added a little whiskey to the batter. It was kind of like a brownie pie. I might try it again some other time and try to get more of a gooey center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I like chocolate so I like the taste of this recipe. I let it bake 15min longer than suggested, then when I went to cut it, it was not done in the middle, I wrapped edges in foil to protect the crust and baked for 20 more minutes. I still had problems getting it to cut with out breaking the top layer apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Great recipe. Although I used half of milk choc chips and half of dark choc chips. Came out super rich so I would suggest some cool whip or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know, maybe i did something wrong. But my pie was not set in the middle at all. It had a nice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is great but can be a bit much on the sweet side. One alteration I made was melting 1.5 cups of chocolate chips instead of 1 cup, and then not adding the rest of the unmelted chocolate chips in. Otherwise you could also serve it with whipped cream to balance out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I've created my own chocolate chip pecan recipes over the years, but this beats them all ! A large piece of this and you'll die happy ! The custard-like mixture helps keep the pecans evenly distributed. I boosted the ingredients a little for a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Absolutely delicious! The key here is to really whip those eggs until until they triple in volume. But be prepared for how messy the chocolate can be, a little planning and you can avoid a big problem. If you work slow, keep your chocolate warm and be sure to use and glass bowl instead of a metal mixing bowl. The chocolate will solidify when it meets the metal bowl and then you've got a lot of scraping to do! Keep those things in mind and this is an easy recipe with "to-die-for" results. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
Made this for the first time to take to a Thanksgiving Feast for an Adult social. It was gone in no time. P.S. The Priest loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States