Chocolate Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This never firmed up in the center, I beat the eggs until they were very very thick and followed the directions completely. The saving grace of this pie was the crust I made up( the reason I wanted to make a chocolate pie). The top layer just feel a part as soon as you stuck a knife in it to cut it. Didn't bake through and the end results was less then pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was SUPER sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The flavor was really good inside. I had a little bit of a hard top "shell" that formed during baking, so it was annoying to cut through, but everyone really like it. I added a little whiskey to the batter. It was kind of like a brownie pie. I might try it again some other time and try to get more of a gooey center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I like chocolate so I like the taste of this recipe. I let it bake 15min longer than suggested, then when I went to cut it, it was not done in the middle, I wrapped edges in foil to protect the crust and baked for 20 more minutes. I still had problems getting it to cut with out breaking the top layer apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Great recipe. Although I used half of milk choc chips and half of dark choc chips. Came out super rich so I would suggest some cool whip or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I dont know, maybe i did something wrong. But my pie was not set in the middle at all. It had a nice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is great but can be a bit much on the sweet side. One alteration I made was melting 1.5 cups of chocolate chips instead of 1 cup, and then not adding the rest of the unmelted chocolate chips in. Otherwise you could also serve it with whipped cream to balance out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I've created my own chocolate chip pecan recipes over the years, but this beats them all ! A large piece of this and you'll die happy ! The custard-like mixture helps keep the pecans evenly distributed. I boosted the ingredients a little for a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Absolutely delicious! The key here is to really whip those eggs until until they triple in volume. But be prepared for how messy the chocolate can be, a little planning and you can avoid a big problem. If you work slow, keep your chocolate warm and be sure to use and glass bowl instead of a metal mixing bowl. The chocolate will solidify when it meets the metal bowl and then you've got a lot of scraping to do! Keep those things in mind and this is an easy recipe with "to-die-for" results. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
Made this for the first time to take to a Thanksgiving Feast for an Adult social. It was gone in no time. P.S. The Priest loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States