Chocolate Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This pie was a disappointment, sorry. It tasted more like Magic Cookie bars than a Pecan Pie; too much chocolate and not enough pecans. I normally get good reviews for my pies and this one was dubbed "too rich". It did get better the longer it sat on the counter - a day or so, but still won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this pie because I had chocolate pecan pie last week at Cracker Barrel and loved it. I wanted to make my own and this was it! It was just as I imagined and super easy to make. I didn't have a crust shield and was too busy to place foil on in the middle, but my crust turned out perfect anyway. It baked up perfectly! One thing I did differently was that I placed extra pecans on top of the pie. It was delicious and I think I would've missed that addition. I will be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
FANTASTIC but with one change. I browned the butter and let it cool while I assembled the rest and preheated the oven. Browned butter makes everything taste better and this was no exception! Wonderful pie! Use your largest, deepest pie plate for this one or it will overflow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Love this recipe!!! It is easy to make and is a huge crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I always got rave reviews on my Pecan pies every Thanksgiving, but I wanted to switch it up a bit and try the Chocolate Pecan Pie. This is now the new family favorite! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
this is awesome! the second time i made it, it was way better. the second time, i didn't mix in the chocolate chips and pecans into the filling. i put the chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie (on the crust), before i put the filling in. then, i added the filling. last, i put all the pecans on top. also, i put foil over the top for the last 15 minutes or so because the first time i made it, the top got too done and almost burnt tasting. it was perfect this time. my husband LOVES it and he is a huge pecan pie fan from the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is the very best chocolate pecan pie recipe there is. One thing, it only makes one pie unless you want two very small pies. No, thank you, one very full, very delicious pie. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I have made this pie twice now for different family get-togethers. We didn't get to bring home leftovers either time! Great tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
this was a huge hit lae bust thanksgiving. I forgot to add the butter, but no one could tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It was great. Made the two pies with a "ready made" Graham crust (so I cheated), but nobody was able to tell the difference, 'cause the reviews from the family memebers were: "Hey this is just like the restaurant". Next time I will try with a normal dough to see the difference; but the Gaham was great; very rich , very tasteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States