Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was not only a super easy recipe, but the results were great! I made it exactly as stated, and I found the coffee was a nice compliment to the chocolate. You don't really taste that there's coffee in the pie, but rather a nice hint of mocha. If I didn't know it was in the pie, I never would have known. One thing to point out is that I had enough filling for 2 full 9" pie shells (not deep dish, purchased in the freezer section at my local grocery store)rather than just one. That was great since I was making the pie for a gift.....then we had another one to try ourselves! It was delicious, rich and a perfect pie you will be proud to serve! This has now become my husbands favorite pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This pie is absolutely delicious! My husband made this pie twice this week - the first one only lasted 24 hours! And no, my husband is not a chef - this pie is just that simple! We didn't put in the instant coffee - but followed the rest to the "t." We used frozen pie crusts and they worked great - but i would recommend you put some foil under the pan, as it did spill out some as it was cooking (since frozen pie crusts are usually in more shallow pans). This is a fantastic recipe. We are going to be making 2 more pies this week for Christmas dinner! I can't wait! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Very easy to make. Rich, but good. I did leave out the coffee, but there were no adverse effects. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The only reason I am giving 3 stars is because this pie was tasty but that was about it. I had to bake my pie for 60 minutes and the center was still soft. My pie came out runny. Did not dare bake it any longer because my pie crust was very dark and I used a pie crust ring the entire baking time. Was not what I was looking for. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of butterscotch chips and my family couldn't get enough of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was an amazing pie. I used a 9.5 in pie pan and the amount was perfect. I didn't get any spill-over. I had to increase the baking time by about 5 minutes. I also covered it for the first 30 minutes of baking to keep the crust from getting too brown. My family LOVED it and it's now my go to pie for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
A family favorite for years now... Serve with whipped cream or ice cream to cut the sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This pie is great, now my family's favorite! I was especially pleased at how well it set up, even at our altitude in Colorado where pecan pies are often runny! It is difficult to find the recipe as it only comes up under an ingredient search, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jen859
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
great recipe, did not use the coffee either. I would not recommend cooking longer than suggested time. once top is just firm, it is done since pecan pies continue to cook after they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this pie yesterday and took it to a potluck everyone raved. I didn't have any problems with it setting up. This was my first pecan pie. This is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States