Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Very easy to make. Rich, but good. I did leave out the coffee, but there were no adverse effects. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This pie is great, now my family's favorite! I was especially pleased at how well it set up, even at our altitude in Colorado where pecan pies are often runny! It is difficult to find the recipe as it only comes up under an ingredient search, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
A family favorite for years now... Serve with whipped cream or ice cream to cut the sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This pie is absolutely delicious! My husband made this pie twice this week - the first one only lasted 24 hours! And no, my husband is not a chef - this pie is just that simple! We didn't put in the instant coffee - but followed the rest to the "t." We used frozen pie crusts and they worked great - but i would recommend you put some foil under the pan, as it did spill out some as it was cooking (since frozen pie crusts are usually in more shallow pans). This is a fantastic recipe. We are going to be making 2 more pies this week for Christmas dinner! I can't wait! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was not only a super easy recipe, but the results were great! I made it exactly as stated, and I found the coffee was a nice compliment to the chocolate. You don't really taste that there's coffee in the pie, but rather a nice hint of mocha. If I didn't know it was in the pie, I never would have known. One thing to point out is that I had enough filling for 2 full 9" pie shells (not deep dish, purchased in the freezer section at my local grocery store)rather than just one. That was great since I was making the pie for a gift.....then we had another one to try ourselves! It was delicious, rich and a perfect pie you will be proud to serve! This has now become my husbands favorite pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was an amazing pie. I used a 9.5 in pie pan and the amount was perfect. I didn't get any spill-over. I had to increase the baking time by about 5 minutes. I also covered it for the first 30 minutes of baking to keep the crust from getting too brown. My family LOVED it and it's now my go to pie for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
To-die-for delicious! Everyone, including my three young children, husband, and mother-in-law, loved this pie and couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of butterscotch chips and my family couldn't get enough of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family LOVES pecan pie, and this one is fabulous! Great twist on the same ole same ole. The chocolate on the bottom was such a surprise but the flavors blended in a wonderful way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This pie was one of the best pies I have eaten. I made it just like it said except I left out the coffee.. and it came out perfect...I used a roll-out dough pie crust (premade). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States